Skip to content

Workout Wednesday: Track Speed Intervals

May 25, 2011

Today was definitely a workout Wednesday! I met up with my speedy running buddy at the track after work for day 2 of my 6 week 5k plan.  The plan was to run 8 X 400m (one lap on a standard track) at around 1:45 each lap (that would be a 7:00/ mile pace) with two minutes of rest in between laps.

Here’s what we did:

1/2 mile warm up

Lap1  1:40

Lap 2 1:34

Lap 3 1:40

Lap 4 1:44

Lap 5 1:42

Lap 6 1:47 (getting tired)

Lap 7 1:51

Lap 8 1:50

1/2 mile cool down

I love how great I feel after a tough speed work session!

I finally decided to play around with my Garmin for a little bit and I figured out that it can assist me with interval training. I set it up to record and signal a lap after each .25 miles and to beep after exactly 2 minutes of rest. It was awesome. I can’t wait to use that feature again. Glad I’m just now finding that out. Sarcastic smile I’ve had it for how long…..?

029

2011-01-16_14.54.58[1]

011

027

After work, I got a call that tomorrow I get the opportunity to put some of my new found personal training skills to work. I’m going to go do some working out at a local gym I hope to be training people at soon (!!). I’m really excited/nervous. When I got home I told Hubby he was coming with me and I was going to practice training on him. I have to admit, it is hard to train your own husband because I didn’t want to sound too bossy Eye rolling smile but it was good practice.

I had him do a full upper body workout including, chest, lats, shoulders, biceps, and triceps with cardio intervals in between sets like jumping jacks and jump rope. He’s been doing a terrific job at getting to the gym regularly and is looking great, but I managed to make him sweat a little during my session.

I did some of the strength routine with hubby as well as a few sets of lunges and squats and I’m beat. Time for me to hit the hay!

What did you do for workout Wednesday?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 10:27 PM

    I uh… did not work out. In my defense, I ran yesterday.

    You so have me coveting your Garmin. I’ve been going back and forth between wanting the 305 and the 610… it just looks so huge!

  2. May 25, 2011 10:28 PM

    Yahhoo! Im sure it will be lots of fun to train people.. Your gonna be a total badass personal trainer. Unleash your inner Jillian! Nice workout, too. You are speedy girl! Love a good fast paced workout though. I did spin chest & shoulders exercises with weights 🙂

  3. May 25, 2011 10:51 PM

    I didn’t have time to get s regular run on, but I did play 2 hours of softball in our firm league to get some excersize in! Running bases tonight will have to do haha

    You’re going to be such an awesome trainer! The best trainers are the ones who are truly passionate and believe in what they are teaching, and you’re so passionate about it!

  4. May 26, 2011 6:50 AM

    Awesome job on the speed training! I need to invest in a Garmin!

  5. May 26, 2011 7:19 AM

    Yesterday I didn’t get a workout in (other then walking to and from work) so I was left really ansy by the end of the day. I couldn’t sit still. This morning I woke up early to try and get an early run in, which was cut short by heavy rain 😦

    I love reading about your workouts, they are very inspiring 🙂

  6. May 26, 2011 10:55 AM

    Hi Britt! Stopping by for the first time — just wanted to say hello and that I also bought the same exact Garmin this week! Would love to hear from you on how exactly to program that 8x400m workout that you did, with all the beeps. I’m so looking forward to working with that watch 🙂

    Happy Thursday!

  7. May 26, 2011 3:38 PM

    i love my garmin for that reason. Set up the workout in Garmin Training Center then just push start and it beeps when I need to do something.

  8. May 26, 2011 4:35 PM

    How exciting that you’re going to start training! 🙂 You’ll have some very lucky clients! 🙂

    Your track workout looks awesome. I find 400’s to be one of the toughest intervals because it’s short enough that you want to sprint but too long to actually do so! 😛

  9. May 26, 2011 4:37 PM

    almost forget to answer the Q! 😛

    I took a lovely, rainy 5 mile run along Lake Michigan with my silly pup. Then did a quick round of body weight exercises while watching some Netflix in the evening 🙂

  10. May 26, 2011 9:37 PM

    So exciting! I hope you love training 🙂

  11. Casey permalink
    May 26, 2011 11:27 PM

    Can you move to Austin to be my trainer??? You’d LOVE running at townlake! Haha

Leave a Reply

