Skip to content

The Little Things

May 28, 2011

We’ve just been having some pretty nice weather the last few days. I woke up Thursday feeling on top of the world, the sun was shining, the birds were chirping, the humidity was really low.  It. was. gorgeous. I did what I had to do and enjoyed my lunch outside.

lunchoutside1

lunchoutside

lunchoutside2

It’s such a nice break from the office to take my lunch outside some days. It provides me some tranquility and clears my mind. I feel like the work day goes by much smoother and I’m so much more productive in my work when I take that bit of time to myself during lunch.

For memorial day weekend my plans are to just enjoy the little things. I plan to get in some running, get my hair done, sit by the pool, spend some time with the hubby, and organize my house a bit. What do you have planned?

Last night we started our weekend off on the right foot. I was debating if I wanted a homemade pizza and wine night or a Mexican food and margarita night. A coin toss confirmed a pizza and wine night…. Told y’all I’m so indecisive!

I realized last night after trying to get some pictures of my deeelicious pizza (sautéed onions, basil, and feta and mozzarella cheese) To.Die.For. I realized I my camera wasn’t even charged which it turn made me realize it’d been a long time since I’d taken any pictures and shared any recipes on the blog. No worries though. My coworker sent me home with a stack of bananas that need to be used pretty quickly so I’ll have a naner recipe coming your way soon Smile.

005

Anyways, hubby and I had said pizza and wine night last night and we rented Black Swan. I have to tell you I was really disappointed (we both were).  I’ve heard from so many people that it was a really good movie, but I just didn’t think it was good at all. We both wanted those 2 hours of our life back when we got done watching it. Have you seen black swan? Did you like it?

I enjoyed a little sleeping in this morning and just had a yummy  breakfast of toast and eggs over medium. I tried Earth Balance (vegan butter) for the first time and it was great!

004

001

Well, I’m off to get my hair done and officially start my day. Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 12:16 PM

    Sounds like a good way to start the weekend… I plan on… doing nothing lol. And loving it!

  2. Mom permalink
    May 28, 2011 5:54 PM

    We are mostly hanging out this weekend. Will be working in my garden. I got a new car so we may go exploring a bit.
    I recently watched the Black Swan and it was just terrible. I was very unimpressed with the psycho ballet dancer. Terrible movie and i thought it was going to be great!! Natalie Portman has done way better movies!!!

  3. May 29, 2011 9:18 AM

    I totally agree that simply getting a little time to myself, especially in the beautiful sunshine, can make all the difference to my day. 🙂

    I also have the hardest time deciding what to make for dinner so I usually just ask my husband to decide!

    I actually really liked Black Swan. I saw it in the theatre which I think makes a big difference because it’s definitely one of those movies where you have to get caught up in the cinematography and experience of it to really enjoy it. Sorry you didn’t like it! 😦

    We don’t have much planned, I’m hoping the sun comes out for my run along Lake Michigan and we might do a little dream shopping on the Mag Mile 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful time! 🙂

  4. May 29, 2011 11:42 AM

    I enjoyed Black Swan, but perhaps only because I was a dancer and I think it did a wonderful job of artistically displaying the serious issues so many dancers face. I understand it’s not for everyone!

    Have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  5. May 29, 2011 6:38 PM

    Enjoy your weekend! I love Earth Balance..mmmm mmm.. I love relaxing days. I just hung out at the beach for my long weekend. Now that I know Black Swan sucks, I wont plan to watch it LOL. Yumm.. Bananerz!

  6. May 29, 2011 10:14 PM

    I’m loving this weather we’re having lately. Its so not Houston 😉

    I haven’t seen Black Swan and have stayed away from it, because I heard its a pretty “dark” movie, and I just don’t ‘do’ dark movies. Not my cup of tea.

  7. May 30, 2011 7:46 AM

    I’m loving this weather too!! I haven’t ate my lunch outside yet, but I definitely see that happening this week! Can’t wait to see what you do with those nanners!

  8. May 30, 2011 8:26 AM

    I have the same plans, just hang out & enjoy the extra day off of work! Glad you’re having some nice, enjoyable weather there!

  9. Kalli permalink
    May 30, 2011 6:03 PM

    i love to get out during the work day and soak up sun too……sounds like you had a great start to your long weekend! enjoy 🙂

  10. May 30, 2011 11:15 PM

    I haven’t seen Black Swan yet and I’m not sure I’m going to…I heard it’s pretty dark. The pizza sounds so delicious!!

  11. May 31, 2011 5:15 PM

    I just haven’t felt compelled to watch Black Swan at all yet, so I haven’t. I’m glad to hear there’s SOMEONE out there who doesn’t love it, though!

    Also, I love that you used a coin toss to decide what you wanted to eat! So funny, and definitely something I have to resort to sometimes!

Trackbacks

  1. Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

