Skip to content

I run because…

June 1, 2011

I might be a little late to the party considering the day is almost over, but I hope everyone had a great National Running Day!  Whether you run 5 minute miles or 15 minutes miles, 1 mile or 26.2 miles I encourage you to get out the door and just run. Give your body, mind, and soul a treat.

 

I love these “I run because…” stickers.

There are so many reason why I run.

I run because it’s changed my attitude about my body. I feel strong and confident inside and out.

I run because it makes me feel accomplished at the end of each day.

I run because I can set out for and accomplish goals.

I run because its taught me I can accomplish whatever I want  if I just put my mind to it.

I run because it de-stresses me, clears my head, cleanses the soul.

I run because some of my greatest thoughts come to me while I’m running.

I run because it challenges me, makes me try harder, and teaches me about myself.

I run because even if I’m running with 1,000s of other people it’s still my time with just myself and my thoughts.

I run because it gives me energy and invigorates me.

I run because I have respect for the body God gave me, and because he blessed me with the ability to run which I am incredibly grateful for.

I run because I love the bond you share with other runners, even just a simple wave as you pass each other every Saturday morning.

I run because I get a lesson in patience and perseverance.

I run because the only thing I need to run is myself and an open road.

running

 

Why do you run?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 9:27 PM

    Those are great reasons to run! I’m still trying to figure out mine..

  2. June 1, 2011 9:59 PM

    I run because it’s a challenge that in the end makes me feel amazing!
    I could go on and on and on though about why I love it.
    Even though I only started a few months ago I love running! 🙂

  3. June 2, 2011 12:53 AM

    oh i love that! you run b/c it develops perseverance and patience! that’s like, 2 of the most important things in life! 😀

  4. June 2, 2011 6:53 AM

    Lots of great reasons! I went out and celebrating yesterday too. I run because it keeps my body and mind feeling 100%!

  5. June 2, 2011 8:01 AM

    I was so happy to get out of work “early” yesterday and make the lululemon run club celebration by jogging 5-6 miles in Central Park.

    I run because it makes me happy. That’s it — pure and simple.

  6. June 2, 2011 8:34 AM

    One of the reasons I run is because I didn’t think I could. That’s why I started and I’m still going 🙂

  7. June 2, 2011 9:19 AM

    I started running because it was hard and I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it. Now I run because it makes me see myself differently. Running makes me feel strong, accomplished, and brave. Becoming a runner wasn’t easy and I think that’s why I like it.

  8. shiningfromwithin permalink
    June 2, 2011 10:49 AM

    I run because of all the same reasons as you. You put it so well. I read a quote yesterday, it was something like, “don’t sacrifice what you want in the future for what you want in this moment.” it’s so true.. don’t just stop training or give up because of what you want NOW but focus on what it’ll feel like in the future and to keep your goals in mind.

  9. June 5, 2011 10:03 AM

    Great post, all excellent reasons to run! I’m late, but happy national running day!

Leave a Reply

