Skip to content

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

June 2, 2011

I am loving y’all responses to yesterdays “I run because…” post.

and I believe I promised a banana recipe sometime in this post.

Nom.nom.nom

Am I the only person out there crazy about the whole banana chocolate combination? Infact, I had a banana chocolate smoothie for breakfast this morning.

  • 1 cup Silk dark chocolate almond milk
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 handful ice

Muffins are one of my favorite things to make! First, they’re cute, especially the mini ones, they’re easy to whip up, easy to be creative with, easy to freeze for later, and an easy crowd pleaser. This sight just makes me all warm and fuzzy:

Fit Chick Britt Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins coming right up….

You’ll need:

  • 3 medium ripe bananas
  • 1 ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Mix together mashed bananas, egg, milk, vanilla and sugar. Slowly stir in flour, salt, baking soda mixture. Last, add in the chocolate chips. Bake at 350 degrees for 15- 17 minutes.

My diet when I made these on Monday might have consisted of just muffins all day. Hey it was a holiday, ok!? Turns out they make great running fuel and they’re not too bad for ya. 😉

What’s the best thing you’ve made recently? And if you haven’t had a chance to answer, why do you run?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 2:35 PM

    Ooooh that looks good. Can you just bring them to me instead of me having to make them? 🙂

  2. June 2, 2011 4:34 PM

    I’m not a big chocolate fan, but I am a total sucker for the banana/chocolate combo.

  3. shiningfromwithin permalink
    June 2, 2011 6:14 PM

    YUMM! I too am in love with anything chocolate + banana lately. I must buy chocolate almond milk or find somethin’ like that so I can make that smoothie. It sounds sooo good.. loving the pics too 🙂

    • shiningfromwithin permalink
      June 2, 2011 6:15 PM

      oh! and best thing I made recently.. definitely honey glazed carrots.

  4. June 2, 2011 9:17 PM

    Bananas + chocolate = amazeballs
    I eat a similar smoothie. Sliced frozen banana, chocolate milk (or white milk + chocolate protein powder) and a handful of spinach. Mmm. The frozen banana makes it cold & creamy!

  5. June 3, 2011 11:52 AM

    I LOVE the banana chocolate combo too, but my heart will always be with pb + choco first!! Muffins look delish!!

  6. June 3, 2011 5:00 PM

    Mmmm…chocolate and banana. Add peanut butter to the two of those and I might just swoon 🙂

    Best thing I’ve made recently is the blackeyed pea stew over at eatliverun.com. It was a stable this winter in my household and I think I made it for the last time until fall…and it was delicious.

  7. June 6, 2011 3:03 AM

    Those muffins would make for one yummy breakfast. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your muffins up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-20.html

  8. June 10, 2011 5:41 PM

    Thanks so much for sharing this at Sweets for a Saturday. I hope you’ll be able to join in again.

Leave a Reply

