Skip to content

Summertime and the Running is Easy

June 5, 2011

Happy Sunday my friends!

I love Sunday’s like these. We didn’t bother to set our alarm clock last night and just woke up when we felt like it- sleeping in rocks! and I had some time to make Hubby and I french toast for breakfast.

002

YUM!

I have a serious thing for french toast. Every time we go to a breakfast place I ALWAYS order french toast and whenever time permits I’ll make french toast at home.

French toast > pancakes and waffles.

After breakfast we went to church and then did some shopping at Academy. I get myself into some trouble browsing around academy for too long. I needed to get some more summer friendly running clothes it’s sooo HOT in Houston now and likely for the next 5 months. I got  3 new tops, one pair of shorts and some how I walked out of there with the coolest pair of trail running shoes EVER.

004

I really enjoy trail running and one of my favorite races I’ve ever done was a 25k trail run. I figured  now is a better time than ever to hit the shady trails. I think this does it for me for summer running clothes, but I am contemplating buying either a water belt or a hand grip bottle to stay hydrated during hotter runs. Mine with me pink though- of course!

Do any of y’all use one of these? Opinions on which is better??

I’ve been trying to get back on track with running and stick pretty closely to my get my groove back 5k plan and I’ve felt pretty good about it this week and even managed to run more miles than planned. Between  hurting my knee, training for a triathlon,  and being very busy getting my personal training certification my running fitness had been put on the back burner a bit and I’m realizing getting back into marathon shape is going to take some work and time. I will get there though; I just need some patience, persistence, and to have fun with my runs! and maybe a running buddy…. ahem… Rachael… ahem… Smile

SPEAKING of marathons- somehow I got a little carried away and decided to,  oh you know, just sign up for another marathon that’s even sooner than the Houston Marathon I’m already signed up for.

For National Running Day the Rock and Roll Marathon series was having a special for $26 off any marathon registration. That made the  full marathon even cheaper than the half marathon (which I was already considering). So I decided  to go for it. San Antonio here I come!!

Some runs this week were awesome and some not so much. Tuesday I ended up with 1.5 miles of speed work before I was asked to train my first client ( Open-mouthed smile), Wednesday was a decent paced 4 miles for national running day which felt like a totally legit run because it included gel and a porta potty.

006

005

I was starving before my run because I hadn’t eaten since noon and it was near 7:00 when I got off work to run. The only thing I managed to scrounge up from my car was a warm pack of apple cinnamon hammer gel. Surprisingly it wasn’t that bad.

Friday I managed an awesome 6.5 mile run including 3 miles of speed work to make up for cutting Tuesday short,  and yesterday I managed to run a totatlynotinthemoodbutsomehowgotitdone 4.2 mile loop. It was the kind of run where I just said I don’t care how slow I’m running I just want to get the mileage done!

Now, I’m just waiting around until 6. Hubby is going to play basketball with some friends and I’m going to try to knock out 7ish miles. Although I just heard thunder.. please don’t rain… please don’t rain.

Hope you’re having a good evening!

Don’t forget to answer my question about the fuel belts Smile

15 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    June 5, 2011 6:57 PM

    I had a run tonight that I did not care how slow I was either, just wanted to get in some miles! Ok, about the water situation, have you considered a Camelbak?? Or do you think it’d be bulky?? I love mine.. I feel like a water belt would get really annoying if it weren’t too tight and it’d bounce around too much & the handheld would get annoying. BUT, if I had to choose between the two I’d go with the water belt.. just because I like to have my hands free’d up when running. I LOVE french toast.. I gotta be in the mood for it though! I am loving those trail shoes + color. I need to get a new pair before I start training for my 1/2 so I better get lookin’!

  2. June 5, 2011 7:48 PM

    Okay, one of these days, you’re going to have to stop reading my head before I post stuff… I’m totally working on a goals page and that Rock ‘n’ Roll Half is on it! I REALLY want to run that one, one day. Post about it, please, so I know what to expect! How did your first training with a client go? I agree with the previous commenter, I’d get annoyed with the belt. But I do have to disagree with you about French toast being better than waffles. I had some homemade family recipe whole wheat-pecan waffles for breakfast this morning that were just wonderful! I’ll post the recipe soon if Carlos will let me! : )

  3. June 6, 2011 6:56 AM

    Those shoes are adorable!! I really need a new pair of running shoes, and I love funky colors like yours! The french toast looks delish, girl!!

  4. June 6, 2011 7:08 AM

    HAHA this made me laugh out loud when I read it. I know this upcoming is your anniversary weekend (right?) and I’ve got 10 miles on the docket HOWEVER I’m running Funfest on Saturday. I’m doing 5 easy NEXT (the 18 or 19) weekend though, wanna go?

    Hope you didn’t get rained on last night, it rained literally a mile from our house but definitely not at our house. Lame-o.

  5. June 6, 2011 7:15 AM

    I’ve used both types of hydration that you’re looking at and each has pros and cons. The belts mean your hands are free- which is nice, but if they don’t fit right they bounce and if the bottles sit on the wrong spots, they can chafe (if the bottles sit right on your hip bones, run away from the belt). With the handheld, you never forget to drink because it is right there in your hand…but it is in your hand and sometimes that’s annoying- especially once your hands get sweaty.

    Have fun choosing! (and I love those shoes)

  6. June 6, 2011 11:05 AM

    I completely agree that french toast > pancakes or waffles!

    Best of luck with your training for San Antonio. You’ll do great!

  7. June 6, 2011 11:17 AM

    just stumbled across your blog & love it! I use a fuel belt and it works great. I usually freeze 1 entire bottle the night before, then fill up the other bottle with filtered water before a run. While out the frozen bottle melts and keeps me cool against my back & by the time I’m ready for it, it’s good to go!
    Exciting about the Rock & Roll – I did the half in Phoenix this past January and it was a BLASTY! Wish I could do San Antonio – my fam lives in Austin so it’s close to home!! : )

  8. June 6, 2011 3:51 PM

    Yea for signing up for RnR San Antonio- there will be lots of us there! I always wear a full fuel belt and carry several water bottles & snacks. I carry tons of stuff with me on long runs & races, so I like the extra pouches. I think they have some pink fuel belts 🙂

    Those shoes are adorable!

  9. June 6, 2011 4:04 PM

    Glad you found my blog and led me here!
    I use a handheld water bottle from Camelback and I love it. It took me about 10 runs to get used to holding something in my hand the whole time, but after a couple week I didn’t notice it. There’s a little pouch I put some gels (or jellybeans!) and keys, etc. in.
    PLUS it comes in pink!
    🙂

  10. June 6, 2011 4:50 PM

    I LOVE YOUR SHOES!! I wish i was a runner haha i’m a total gym rat

  11. June 6, 2011 5:03 PM

    I haves used both of the fueling belts that you mentioned in your blog. I personally prefer the hand-held one just because I feel like I have a better idea of how much fluid I actually have on me and because it is just way more comfortable. I tried the belt one time when I was running with Paul because it looked like it was working for him; the entire time I ran with it I was so annoyed, the belt kept slipping off my hips and would end up around my waist. I think the more curvy you are, the harder it is for a belt like that to stay in place. Granted, I am still totally jealous of him every time we are running because the bottle can start to feel like a small weight in your hand after a few miles, but I honestly think you just have to try what works for you. I say try jogging around the store before you purchase either of them and see what feels more comfortable for you.

  12. June 6, 2011 5:37 PM

    Those shoes are SO cute!! I have the handheld and it starts to bother me after only about a mile of running… really annoying. Makes me almost wish I would’ve gotten a belt but I dunno if it’s much better. And what shorts work best for you… I’m in need of shorts that don’t bunch up!

  13. pawsitivelife permalink
    June 6, 2011 7:52 PM

    I used to use a running belt but it was the one with a water bottle on the back.. I felt like it bounced too much. My next running belt will most definitly be one with the little mini bottles

  14. Lettuce Choose Healthy permalink
    June 6, 2011 10:05 PM

    hey britt!!

    i know i’ve mentioned before, but I’ll mention it again .. i love reading your blog!!

    I have never tried a fuel belt before. I have run with a camelbak that I liked but got annoying for really long runs. I need water when I run. I liked reading everyone elses opinions!

  15. June 7, 2011 9:35 PM

    I just love your cute pink trail shoes!
    Hydration. I prefer a handheld water bottle. The belts seems to upset my tummy. Plus, I don’t like the weight on my hips. But I am LOVING my Camelbak pack! It’s perfect for longer runs.

Leave a Reply

