Skip to content

Upper Body Circuit + Reality TV

June 7, 2011

Last night I got in a perfect upper body workout while watching The Bachelorette and waiting for my vegetables to finish roasting in the oven (look at me multi-tasking!).  My arms are feeling it today.

This workout is super easy to do at home because it’s all done with dumbbells and body weight. My dumbbells at home are pretty light (I switched between 5 & 8 lbs) so I did high reps with low weight.

Upper Body Dumbbell Circuits:

Repeat each circuit twice before moving on to the next circuit

Circuit 1: Chest

  • 25 Chest Press
  • 25 Chest Fly
  • 10 Push ups

Circuit 2: Back

  • 25 Wide- grip dumbbell row
  • 25 Mid-grip dumbbell row
  • 25 Supermans

Circuit 3: Biceps

  • 25 Bicep Curls
  • 25 Hammer Curls

Circuit 4: Shoulders

  • 25 lateral-anterior raises
  • 25 military press
  • 50 dumbbell punches  

Circuit 5: Triceps

  • 25 tricep kickbacks
  • 25 tricep pushbacks
  • 25 tricep dips

Fun Fact: Triceps are the hardest muscle for me to work out for some reason; I struggle getting through that part of the workout and definitely feel the burn after that. I think they’re my weakest muscle. They’re also the area most women complain about.

What muscle do you dread working out in the gym?

Does anyone else watch the Bachelorette? I haven’t always been an avid watcher, I want to say I watched the second season, one season because my sisters friend was on it, and last season because my rest day from marathon training was on Monday and that was basically the only day I watched TV. So, that lead me to watch this season because last season’s Ashley is the bachelorette now. I really like Ashley!

 I couldn’t believe what went down last night! I know it must be scripted and like 90% fake, but the producers are doing a good job at keeping me entertained enough to stick around. What can I say?  I am a reality TV junkie. It’s actually quite like me to do my strength workouts from home while watching junk TV. I also like the Real Housewives series, The Real World, and House Hunters (especially international!).

 

Do you watch any reality TV?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 1:23 PM

    Triceps are my hardest too — they hurt my elbows 😛

    I like a lot of reality tv — esp the bachelor/bachelorette! JP and West are my favs so far — you?

  2. June 7, 2011 1:33 PM

    Sit or stand while doing circuit?
    Btw: pic for triceps shows exact way NOT to overextend elbow. Should never go beyond 90º…same for chest press, bench, etc when laying down.

  3. Amanda Jo permalink
    June 7, 2011 1:44 PM

    I did pushups while watching my DVRed Real Housewives yesterday =)

  4. June 7, 2011 2:48 PM

    I’m a total reality tv junkie much to my dismay. I love House Hunters: International too, my favorite episodes are the ones where they’re looking at gorgeous houses on the beach.

  5. June 7, 2011 9:56 PM

    I have a love/hate relationship with lateral raises. I love to do them, but with the right weight they rough me up!

    I used to watch loads of reality TV but these days I don’t seem to watch much of it at all. I do however love house Hunters International too – isn’t it crazy how some places they go a little dumpy hut costs 1 million dollars, and then another place they can practically get a mansion for $150,000?

  6. Kalli permalink
    June 7, 2011 10:06 PM

    oh i am a reality show junkie for sure 🙂 love that you worked out while watching tv !

  7. June 8, 2011 6:31 AM

    I love strength training to bad reality tv! Can’t say I’m a fan of Bachelorette, but it’s great you have entertainment while getting buff.

  8. June 8, 2011 11:17 AM

    Hm, I don’t watch much reality TV at all, but my roommate does and it sometimes sucks me in while she’s watching. I love How I Met Your Mother and Modern Family, though!

    Those circuits look great! Congrats on feeling sore from a great workout 🙂

  9. June 8, 2011 11:57 AM

    nice workout! I love squeezing in some exercise while waiting for this to cook or watching TV. I’ll usually do squats in the kitchen while baking 🙂
    I have a love/hate relationship with working out my butt haha.
    Hmm.. I def watch probably too much reality TV. I am in love with the Housewives!!!

  10. June 8, 2011 3:20 PM

    i don’t watch the bachelorette but I’ve heard about the latest ep… whoa there! And sounds like a great workout, good for you!

  11. June 9, 2011 7:00 AM

    real housewives are soooo addicting haha I totally agree….and for triceps try laying down on the floor or a bench and putting the dumbells together. go down so that your elbows are near your eyes as many times as possible…that works triceps in no time!

Leave a Reply

