Skip to content

Realizations

June 15, 2011

I had a couple of realizations today.

First one, I needed to go grocery shopping. Grocery shopping and carrying a few loads of groceries up 3 flights of stairs counts as a workout, right? I sure hope so because grocery shopping is done and done!

003

Second, I realized I have not run a double digit run since January when I ran a marathon. Yikes! I came to this realization as I was making plans with Rachael to do a long run this weekend. I’m really wishing I would have kept up my endurance/ long run ability marathon training, but I know it can be tough on your body to do too much and my body was craving rest in the weeks afterwards. We’ll see how it goes this weekend; I’m excited to have someone to run with!

 

Third, I realized I haven’t cooked anything new in waaaay tooo long. Psh I haven’t really technically cooked in a while. Unless you count eggs over easy that I’ve been having for breakfast and dinner almost every day often. I need some new recipes in my life.

001

Lastly, somehow, I got to thinking about all the people I’ve come across that have been inspirational along my “journey,” as you could call it, to healthy living. There are family members, to friends to random strangers who’s name I don’t know, who have really inspired me to become the person I am now and care about my health and well being.

To my sister, Shirelle, constantly nagging telling me one day I could no longer drink 6 Dr. Peppers a day and eat McDonalds double cheeseburgers for and never gain an ounce. You were right, it does catch up to you. You also used to tell me I never ate my fruits and vegetables. Well… turns out you were right about that too, I’ve been working on it, and I actually see the importance now Smile

To the random girl that used to run on the treadmill at the apartment I lived in in college. I had no clue how you could get on that treadmill and run for 30 minutes straight (and pretty fast too!). I was enamored and intrigued that anyone could run for that long and I wanted to find out for myself if maybe one day I could do that. Well, guess what? I can!

To Jenna at Eat Live Run, I used to have no idea what a “healthy living blog” was, but I’m so glad that somehow someway I googled something and stumbled across your blog. It opened up this whole new world of healthy living that inspired me to share my own experiences through my blog and helped me find so many blogger friends I never knew were out there.

To my old restaurant manager, Amanda, I’m not sure if I would have ever started running without your encouragement. I remember you were assuring me that anyone could run a half marathon. I wasn’t really sure I believed it, but I gave it a go and I actually found out I could run a 5k, a half marathon, and even marathon. Now, I truly agree with you and believe anyone can run a half marathon if they put their mind to it.

These are just a few people that crossed my mind today that had some significance in the way I am at the present. I think this goes to say, you never really know who you might inspire one day. Keep doing what you do and putting your best foot forward, someone might be out there counting on you.

Who are some people in your life that have influenced and inspired you to be healthier?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2011 9:34 PM

    We will make it through all 10 this weekend, I have no doubt. And it’s going to be infinitely easier because we’ll be pushing each other. And by pushing each other, I mean you may have to pull me through the last couple miles, but it will get done and it’ll be good.

    Good post. I think it’s important to remember where [we] start at. I was reading a post about C25k earlier today and it took me back to when I decided to start training. I don’t even remember why I started anymore, but I’m sure glad I did…

  2. shiningfromwithin permalink
    June 16, 2011 7:52 AM

    I love a well stocked fridge, nothin better! I need to find some new recipes, too. Some inspirations for me are people are the gym who I never would have thought they could haul ass on the treadmill which encourages me to, too. Also, Angela from OhSheGlows is a huge inspiration to me. I completely stumbled across her blog and from there it’s opened up so many ideas and blogs to me that I had no idea about! I find inspiration everywhere, everyday. It’s crazy when you think about it, because it really is all around you.

  3. Kalli permalink
    June 16, 2011 9:21 AM

    gosh i would say ALL of the healthy blogs i read daily keep me focused and healthy. you are one inspiration to me as well!

  4. June 16, 2011 9:47 AM

    Healthy living blogs help me keep on track and also remember why it is important to treat my body well!

  5. June 16, 2011 11:54 AM

    Honestly, all of you keep me motivated, period. 😉

    This kind, supportive, and hilarious community of fit bloggers has kept me motivated and energized in a way I haven’t been in a long time!

  6. June 17, 2011 10:55 PM

    To YOU, who keeps mr accountable, let’s me cheat with margaritas and most importantly keeps me same through everything. Good friends are more inspiring than anything!

Leave a Reply

