Skip to content

To My Dad + First Long Run of the Season

June 19, 2011

Happy Sunday friends! Also, happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there.

I personally have the best Dad! Yep, MY Dad’s the best!

20100611-IMG_9208

Ignore his crazy hair. Remember? We got married on the beach.

From the time I was 12 my Dad raised all four of us as a single Dad. I’m sure it wasn’t always easy, but he really stepped up to the plate and I’m so thankful to have had such a great man to call my Dad. I’d say he did a pretty good job, too Smile.

35678_1540261546738_1240912818_31533972_5928668_n[1]

I get a lot of inspiration to stay active from my dad. He’s always been into lifting weights and surfing since I can remember. He’s recently taken up a love for kayaking and even completed a 100-mile kayak race! He’s also a little goofy too…

023

Sorry Dad.

Anyways, I hope you’re out spending some time with the father figure in your life. Thanks to Rachael, I was up bright and early to cover 10 miles this morning. It’s time to jumpstart that marathon training!

026

I was actually nervous for this run because I haven’t ran a double digit run since January. It’s been mostly 3-5 mile runs and maybe a 10k distance here and there. I was worried if I could get through it or not. The first 3-4 miles were actually the toughest for me but once I started going it was a breeze. I’ve always felt like I was built to run distance because once I get past those first few miles I feel like I could go forever.

028

We kept a pretty solid pace the whole time. I was drenched when we were done because of the humidity, but there was a nice breeze that kept the heat bearable. I’m not really a morning person, but it was AWESOME to have 10 miles done before 9 a.m. And it was AWESOME to have a long run running buddy!

After the run, I came home and made hubby and I breakfast then we headed to church. Now, we’re headed over to his Dad’s house (another GREAT dad, right there!) Later this evening my dad and I are heading out to ride some trails on our mountain bikes. Can’t wait!

What are you doing this Fathers Day? Do you prefer to do your long runs with a running buddy or do solo runs?

I used to do all my running solo, but find that lately I need that extra motivation and I enjoy the camaraderie.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. pawsitivelife permalink
    June 19, 2011 5:16 PM

    Your wedding dress is beautiful!

  2. June 19, 2011 6:08 PM

    I went to my dads special place (the bay) and spent the day there with him, my boyfriend, and my oma 🙂 After went to olive garden. I love my dad he raised me on his own as well! Nothing compared to raising four kids but still single fathers = the bomb.

  3. June 19, 2011 6:24 PM

    whoa you’re fast! Way to go on the 10 miles! I also did 10 miles over the weekend, YAY!! I forgot, what marathon are you training for?

    • June 20, 2011 11:05 AM

      I’m training for the San Antonio Rock and Roll in November and then the Houston Marathon in January.

  4. June 19, 2011 9:41 PM

    You and your dad are so cute!

  5. June 20, 2011 7:03 AM

    awww I love your color scheme of the bridesmaid’s dresses and your flowers..you look so great! I like working out alone usually.

  6. June 20, 2011 7:58 AM

    I used to do all my running by myself. But for the last 8 months or so I’ve run mostly with a friend and now I sometimes find it tough to get out the door if I know I’ll be running alone. Once I’m out there, I love my alone time, but it is hard to drag my own butt out the door sometimes 🙂

  7. June 20, 2011 10:15 AM

    Wedding at the beach, how perfect is that!! I love outdoor weddings.
    I always prefer to do my runs by myself, I guess because it is my time to think and just be by myself. I have never ever had a running buddy, so I guess if I might try it…I might enjoy it.

  8. June 20, 2011 10:32 AM

    You really do have the best dad! Raising all four of you solo? Good for him, it seems like you all turned out wonderfully!

  9. shiningfromwithin permalink
    June 20, 2011 11:11 AM

    your dad looks like a great, silly, fun guy! hollar for ten miles!! I need a long run buddy… I feel the same too, after the first 4 miles I’m smooth sailing. It’s thinking about all the miles that you have to do while you’re running that make it so hard!

  10. June 20, 2011 4:08 PM

    It sounds like you had a perfect day with the dads!

    Also, just have to say — I love the color scheme of your wedding!

  11. June 20, 2011 5:11 PM

    🙂 thanks for running with me! i had fun, we should definitely do that again soon!

  12. Kalli permalink
    June 20, 2011 6:59 PM

    love your pics and your dad seems so special and fun!

Leave a Reply

