Skip to content

30-Minute Meal Monday: Summer Soup

June 20, 2011

013

Finally! The return of 30- Minute Meal Monday. Fit Chick Britt bringing YOU quick and easy 30-minute meals to brighten the Monday blues.

If you’ve missed any of my other 30-Minute Meal Monday recipes check them out:

I loooove soup! and who says soup is just a winter dish? Toss is some summer vegetables and voila you’ve got summer soup!

003

You’ll need:

  • 3 kale leaves, stems removed and chopped
  • 1medium-large squash, chopped
  • 1 medium-large zucchini, chopped
  • 1 large carrots
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1/2 medium white onion, diced
  • handful of sage leaves
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2 t dried thyme
  • 1 t sea salt
  • 1 t black pepper

005

Sidenote: I love this brand of wine for it’s name! Very suiting for me since I am the middle sister.

155026_10150337361405212_570700211_16239894_455885_n[1]

442

I also have an 11 year old sister that’s not pictured. I’m not sure if I have a picture of all of us. It’s hard to get everyone to show up for a pic Smile

Directions for the soup:

In a large pot on medium-high heat,  heat olive oil and sauté onions and garlic. After  3 minutes toss in kale. Add white wine and stir for 3 minutes. Pour in vegetable broth, vegetables, and spices. Bring mixture to a boil, then cover and simmer on low heat for 20 minutes.

Enjoy on a warm summer day!

014

How was your Monday? What was for dinner? Do you have any siblings? Are you the oldest, youngest, or middle?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2011 8:43 PM

    I’m the middle sister, too! Need some of that wine! haha!

    I love the very idea of your soup – veggies and I just bet the white wine adds the perfect flavor to it! Yum!

  2. June 20, 2011 8:54 PM

    I love quick soups like that, I’ve never used kale though-

    My Monday was OK, back to work is never too exhilerating.. I have 3 sisters, one younger and two older half sisters!

  3. June 20, 2011 9:52 PM

    My Monday was horrid haha ($2000 doctors bill) but I’m making the best of it by having tofu (healthy!) and mac and cheese (not healthy haha!) for dinner.

  4. June 20, 2011 10:28 PM

    Glad you don’t have that pink hair though. hehe even though pink is your fave color. soup looks delish!

  5. June 20, 2011 10:49 PM

    So I’ve always thought you look familiar but now so does your sister on your right (the blonde). I have NO IDEA why.

    We went to Carabba’s for dinner. Yum.

    I’m the oldest… I have one younger brother and that’s it!

  6. June 20, 2011 11:59 PM

    Ha that’s a cute bottle of wine. And I’m not a big soup person but lately I’ve been enjoying it more. I dunno tho, summer + soup seems like it’d = a sweaty mess of me.

  7. June 21, 2011 7:04 AM

    I’m the youngest…and the favorite…OOPS did i say that??? haha

  8. June 21, 2011 7:11 AM

    I’m the oldest and I think I am a fairly typical oldest sibling…
    For Monday dinner we had breakfast for dinner- it was delicious 🙂

  9. June 21, 2011 7:57 AM

    That’s an adorable brand of wine!

    I’m the little one in our family, but we only have two. My brother and I are both very strong personalities though, and pretty independent. Good thing we all get along!

    I’m looking forward to more 30-minute meals … I love the idea!

  10. shiningfromwithin permalink
    June 21, 2011 8:42 AM

    mmm I love soup. I love that bottle of wine haha. I used to be the middle sister, until my little sister (11yrs old, too!!) was born. Now I am like sharing the middle with my other sister haha.

  11. June 22, 2011 7:08 AM

    Sorry, but I’m going to go ahead and say you’re a weirdo. I just can’t do soup in the summer. It’s TOO HOT!! 🙂 Repost in the winter months please! Joking! Soup is good!

  12. Kalli permalink
    June 22, 2011 6:55 PM

    what an easy soup! love it and love the wine though mine would read baby sister 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 30 Minute Meal Monday: Gazpacho « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

