Skip to content

A Little Bit of a Lazy Weekend

July 3, 2011

Good morning! How’s your morning going? It’s been quite the lazy Sunday morning over here which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. I’ve just been catching up on some blog reading and working on my own.

As soon as I headed over to Healthy Tipping Point this morning and saw Caitlin’s grilled banana sandwich I knew exactly what I was having for breakfast.

012

I had made this once before and it definitely didn’t disappoint the second time around. To save some calories I only had half a sandwich, but I’m thinking I foresee a snack in my future soon Winking smile.

Yesterday, Hubby and I had a fun-filled Saturday. We’re actually both off work all three days this weekend. First thing on our agenda (after coffee of course) was the matinee showing of Transformers. Hubby really wanted to see it so I told him we could if we saw the early showing because there would be less people and the ticket is cheaper. Win, win!

007

 

We got to the theatre around 10:00 a.m. and watched all the previews. Then when the movie came on it displayed the message about getting your 3d glasses ready for the showing. The only thing was, we weren’t there to see a 3d movie. Apparently they were having technical difficulties. We got moved to another theatre showing that didn’t start until nearly 11:00, but they ended up giving us passes to see another movie one day. I’d say that was worth the extra time.

And of course I snuck in a snack and some waters for us. These new Skinny Cow candy bars are pretty good. This one taste sort of like a kit-kat.

006

Fit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: When you’re going to the movies bring yourself a healthy snack so you wont be tempted to dive into the movie popcorn and theatre size candy boxes.

 

The movie was ok….. er, more like what you’d expect, a lot of big machines fighting for two hours. I told hubby we were going to see my kind of movie with our free passes next time we go. Smile. Which probably means a chick flick. Is there anything good out right now?

We saw a preview for the next Twilight movie, Breaking Dawn, and it looked pretty good. I have read all the Twilight books and am wondering exactly how Breaking Dawn is going to play out.

After the movie, I had my first Panera Bread experience. I’m not exactly sure why I’d never been to Panera before. It was delicious! I knew it’d be the kind of place I’d like but I’d just never gotten around to trying it out before.

panera

I got a cup of creamy tomato soup and a half of a Mediterranean sandwich. It was so good. I think I’m going to replicate this sandwich at home. It had cucumbers, feta, olives, red onion, lettuce and tomatoes. YUM!

After lunch we headed to the outlets to see if I could find some new running shoes. I normally go for Nikes, but unfortunately I couldn’t find anything that would really work at the Nike store for me. After scouring Nike, Under Armour, and Adidas I ended up with a pair of Adidas that felt really nice. I’m always hesitant to buy new shoes I’ve never tried before. I went with the Adidas Marathon 10. Anyone know anything about these? They need to last me through marathon training through November, so I’m hoping I made a good choice. They’re really light weight.

Somehow when we got home I ended up taking a longer than anticipated nap. How can you resist this….?

249816_152360151502352_100001851047285_360785_1155812_n[1]

I finally ended up making it to the gym around 8:00 last night. I know, again, I’m really wild hitting up the gym on Saturday night. I ran 3 miles and did some ab work on my exercise ball and worked biceps, triceps, and shoulders. It was a great workout; I’m really digging some strength training right now.

Speaking of workouts, I probably ought to quit being lazy and go get my fitness on.

Have a great day!

brittsig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2011 2:40 PM

    That looks like Panera! I love that Med veg Sam, but it is VERY high in calories. Guess it’s that delicious bread, the pesto and all the feta!
    Sounds like a nice, relaxing weekend. Glad y’all are both off to enjoy it together!

    • July 3, 2011 8:31 PM

      I was suprised by the amount of calories. 300 for just one half. It was worth it though; that bread was delicious!

  2. shiningfromwithin permalink
    July 3, 2011 5:04 PM

    YOUR FIRST TIME AT PANERA!!!!!! omg. oh ma gawd. I love that place! I always get that sandwich it is so goood. When I wasn’t a veggie I got the broccoli cheddar soup and it is phenom. Love.

    Chick flicks > Transformers. You should go see Bad Teacher. It looks so funny I am dying to see it.

    I saw that bfast sammie too on her blog and immediately drooled. Must make myself one when I get all the ingredients!

    • July 3, 2011 8:31 PM

      Ooooh Bad Teacher does look good! and that naner sandwich is the bomb 🙂

      • shiningfromwithin permalink
        July 4, 2011 1:42 PM

        oh btw, love the new header!

  3. July 3, 2011 5:59 PM

    Reading this post somehow makes me feel like I should get my booty to the gym tonight… and maybe make a panera inspired sandwich when I get home.

  4. July 3, 2011 9:12 PM

    It’s funny that you saw the new Transformers movie because my husband was reading reviews of it earlier tonight and Richard Roepers was pretty funny, he said, “Rarely has a movie had less of a soul and less interesting characters.”

    Although I do find critics to be a little hard on movies that are made to be summer blockbusters.

    I have mixed feeling about Breaking Dawn, I thought the book was such a disappointment at the end, I’ll for sure still be seeing it (gotta get my Edward fix!) but I’m not looking forward to it like I”m looking forward to the last Harry Potter movie.

  5. July 4, 2011 11:38 AM

    Totally agree that an extra movie pass would have made it all worth it! I need to see the trailer for Breaking Dawn asap! So excited for that!

  6. July 5, 2011 8:00 AM

    I have absolutely zero desire to see Transformers. I saw the first one because I was intrigued and then…I was done. I somehow managed to get away without seeing it this weekend. yay! haha! I know you had to take one for the team! =)

    I can’t believe this was your first visit to Panera! We love it! Delish – and somewhat easy to eat healthy there! =)

  7. July 8, 2011 6:35 PM

    I love your tip! I always bring air popped popcorn and a diet coke to the movie.

Leave a Reply

