Skip to content

The Procrastinators 5k

July 5, 2011

You’ll have to excuse my ugly cup because I wasn’t intending on sharing my breakfast smoothie with you, but it was so good I decided I needed to. My normal green monster usually consits of a banana, unsweetned almond milk, spinach, and cinnamon. Today I swapped out the cinnamon for some frozen blueberries. It was an oh so delicous and refreshing green…..er… grey? monster. But hey, it matched my outfit!

 

 

I never really measure out ingredients when I’m making a smoothie (or anything really) Sucha rebel! 😉 But if you’re interested in the “grey” monster recipe it’s about:

  • 1 cup almond milk, unsweetened
  • 1 medium banana
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries

I was running late this morning because I couldn’t find any shoes to wear to work. I have 3 pairs of grey/silver flats (I heart grey clothes) and I could only find one of each shoe.

 

 

Ick it might be time to retire that first pair, but lets not forget that obviously there is something funny  going on around here… Dolly was less than amused…

 

 

I’m pretty sure she’s thinking, “My mom is such a weirdo taking pictures of her shoes, hello, I need to go potty!”  We keep our shoes in the closet that’s right by the front door and since I take her out every morning after I put my shoes on she comes running out as soon as she hears my hand touch the knob of the closet door.

 

Anywho, how was your weekend? We did a lot of relaxing and hanging out. Somehow I ended up taking two naps, one Saturday and one yesterday, and that NEVER happens. It was awesome. I still couldn’t wake up this morning. It’s always tough to go back to work after a 3-day weekend.

I believe somewhere in this post I promised you guys a little 4th of July 5k action. And somewhere in this post I told you what an indecisive person I am. I think y’all have no idea how indecisive I really mean. I toiled and toiled  over whether I wanted to run a 4th of July 5k or not. After signing up for the San Antonio Marathon (funny I didn’t really even think twice about signing up for a marathon, but a 5k, yeah, that takes some serious consideration)  I swtiched my focus away from faster-running-thinking and more towards distance. I did a few longer runs and still tried to do my track work-which by the way is flipping hard to do in the middle of the Houston heat.

For the last month I spent some time on active.com. I found a free club run 5k on July 3rd and kept eyeballing 2 different 5ks on the 4th of July, but I just kept thinking “I really don’t want to drive an hour just to run a 5k”, “I’d rather spend my race money on a longer distance race” “I don’t even feel that prepared to run a 5k, I’d prob be really slow” “You better run a 5k you told your blog-readers you were going to run one.”  and “Ugh I don’t want to be the lonely loser girl who doesn’t know anyone in the running club if I do the free club run.” Yes, please feel sorry for me, it’s exhausting being inside my head sometimes.

So long story short Sunday rolls around and I still have not signed up for a 5k. I’m standing there telling Hubby my whole 5k dilemma (I’m sure he was listening really hard, he loves my indecisiveness). At noon I put my workout clothes on and I thought, “Well even though it’s like 110-degrees I’ll just go to the park and run my fastest 5k to see where I’m at.” Because, really, I haven’t raced since February, and I had no clue where I stood as far as pacing and marathon time goals. Then at that very moment Rachael texts me. She was asking me if I had ever made a decision because she herself was having the same dilemma. Talk about procrastination! We’re both toiling over signing up for 5ks the day before the race would be. Thank goodness I’m not the only crazy one. Sorry Rache!

Anyways, after all my indecisiveness and conversation with Rachael I decided I really ought to just risk looking like the awkward girl at the free club run 5k that night and on the plus I convinced one of my friends to go with me.

It was really weird doing a “race” at night. I hadn’t really put much thought into hydration or what I was eating because I didn’t even know until a few hours before I’d be running. We got there not really knowing what to expect. There were about 15 people all together and we asked some questions about the course and how it works. Every first Sunday of the month they host a 5k, they time it, and they record everyones results and keep a tally of who has won the most for males and females, they post the results online AND it’s free! There was no food, t-shirts, or prizes, but there was definitely some competition amongst the runners, and everyone was very friendly.

I won’t bore you with a full race recap, but the run went really well and to my surprise I finished with a pretty decent time of 23:31. It was my 3rd best 5k time,  and not too bad considering it was feels-like- 100-degrees with 100 percent humidity, and I hadn’t really trained like I intended. I went out too fast and had to slow back for the second and third miles but was still the first female to finish (not that there were many). And then my guy friend won the whole thing overall (it was his first 5k! <—- not fair). We both had a really good time and felt good being the overall female and male winners. I will defnitely be returning and trying to do even better with my time in the months to come.

I’m glad I decided to quit procrastinating and just go run a 5k!

Oh, and incase you were worried I solved the shoe dilemma and just wore my silver sandals. (I knew you were worried).

 

Happy Monday Tuesday!

 

Did you run any races this weekend or take any naps? What’s your favorite green monster combo?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2011 12:48 PM

    Hahaha this made me laugh out loud. No apologies needed, I am probably more indecisive than you. 🙂 I’m glad you finally decided to go, I definitely did not… Oh well, I’ll find a 5k to do somewhere…

  2. July 5, 2011 1:12 PM

    I love smoothies and make them all the time but I still haven’t tried spinach in them. I have all the ingredients that you used for yours so I may have to give that a try tomorrow morning!
    Great job on the 5K too!

  3. July 5, 2011 1:48 PM

    Every Wednesday evening during the summer my local running club puts on a similar type 5k… They’re so much fun! Glad you had fun 🙂

  4. July 5, 2011 3:20 PM

    http://www.doodahracing.com

    Come do the Bad Hair Day Virtual 5k!

  5. Kalli permalink
    July 5, 2011 6:15 PM

    no races but i did nap! glad you got a few of those in too…..and i love my green mosnters with frozen berries-can’t miss with that!

  6. July 5, 2011 6:21 PM

    uber cute sandles! congrats on first female! you are, or course, my 5K hero. I’m amazed at your speed! I’ve made myself a grey monster a time or two before (darn blueberries throw off the color, but taste sooo good)! =)

  7. July 5, 2011 6:39 PM

    Way to bust out a stellar 5K time in the heat, wow! (and love your silver sandals, too cute!)

  8. July 5, 2011 7:31 PM

    Races no, naps actually yes and I also never nap! Love all your grey shoes!

  9. July 6, 2011 7:37 AM

    i’m the same way, I don’t measure when making a smoothie, I just dump things in the blender & hope for the best. It works 99.9% of the time!
    Whoa, 23:31? That’s incredible! Congratulations on the last minute FAST 5k!

  10. July 6, 2011 8:24 AM

    I am so indecisive … That’s a craaaazaaayy good time for not training and just winging it! Sometimes you just need to give yourself a little kick in the butt. I am a ‘black’ girl. Everything I wear ends up being black! Gaaaaah haha

  11. July 6, 2011 10:54 AM

    I think all breakfasts should match our outfits 🙂 I think I have an unhealthy obsession with grey clothes as well- I just gravitate toward it!

    Congrats on the 5K win. Sometimes the “no pressure” races are more fun and end up being good ones 🙂

  12. July 7, 2011 12:03 AM

    A blogger after my own heart- I heart gray everything. No more heather gray sweaters for me! I am going to try your smoothie tomorrow morning. I was pretty proud of mine from this morning so I had to share it on my blog too!

  13. July 7, 2011 7:07 AM

    love your shoes!! esp the sandals and american eagle flats 🙂

  14. Dad permalink
    July 7, 2011 10:29 PM

    Wanna do this race with your old Dad?

    http://www.active.com/running/kingwood-tx/lake-houston-10k5k-2011

  15. July 8, 2011 11:09 AM

    I love the middle shoe! What kind of shoe is that? I want a pair — super cute! I hope you found their mates.

    I am a smoothie addict – but mostly addicted to Amazing Grass with almond milk, banana, blueberry and spinach.. YUM.

  16. July 8, 2011 10:12 PM

    HELL YEA GIRL! awesome job- way to fight your brain hehe ❤

  17. July 9, 2011 7:04 AM

    I love when my green monsters turn out interesting colors! I’m obsessed with them! I love adding frozen watermelon chunks too. Usually I add: water, greek yogurt, scoop of protein powder, spincach, ice, frozen fruit, xanthan gum!

Leave a Reply

