Skip to content

Guest Post: Raw No Bake Vegan Cookies

July 9, 2011

Hi lovely Fit Chick Britt readers!

IMG_0098 

I’m Julie from Shining From Within where I blog about my life! You know, working out, eating lots of delicious vegetarian (and vegan!) foods, and playing with my dog Chippy, who, without me, would be lost in this big world. We pretty much complete each other. We’re like dumb and dumber.

IMG_0175

I love to be silly and be a real goofball, so excuse me if for one (or many) second(s) you may think you’re reading a kindergartens blog. Kidding. 😉

IMG_2183

But for real, I try not to take life too seriously and lately my mantra has been to just ‘blow where the wind takes me’. I know, so irresponsible and totally unpredictable, but hey, isn’t life funner (making up words here, told you I’m a kindergartener) that way?

While Brittaney is away, I thought I’d share with you a raw, vegan, no bake cookie I came up with when I was in need for anything and everything cookie dough flavored.

Y’all ladies know what home girl is talkin’ about.

IMG_1910

Sometimes life may get crazy and you may want to reach for a cookie, or five, to help you get through those tough times. Who said emotional eating is bad? Listen, I don’t know anyone who ever ate ice cream and was sad. Point proven. I am now allowing you to eat ice cream when you’re sad so you can be happy.

However, even if you’re not sad, these cookies will immediately make you super happy. And you know why? Because they’re healthy! And eating healthy, wholesome foods makes me really happy. Yes, even apples and broccoli.

IMG_1919

Raw, Vegan, No Bake Cookies (GF option if you use GF oats)

  • 1/4 cup + 1 tbsp cashew butter
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats *
  • 1 tbsp chocolate chips, chopped (I used dark, but use whatever you have/like!)
  • 1 tbsp pure maple syrup

Directions: Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix until well combined. Place in the freezer for 10 minutes, or until firm. Enjoy!

*I keep mine stored in the freezer because I noticed they stay together better.

*I originally used whole rolled oats, but next time I would probably process the oats for a smoother cookie. It’s totally up to you though! If you don’t want to dirty another appliance, just used whole rolled oats.

These taste like raw cookie dough that has been smooshed into a cookie shape.

Bits of crunchy dark chocolate, chewy oats, and just a hint of maple syrup will drive your taste buds up a wall upon first bite.

IMG_1927

But if cookies aren’t your thing (…then there’s something wrong with you. JK. no, really, you should get that checked out.) how about some strawberry shortcake VOO (MY FAV!!)?

IMG_1074

Because, seriously, who wouldn’t want to start their day off with some strawberry shortcake!?

Or if you don’t have an insanely large sweet tooth, like moi, then how about you make a tempting tempeh sandwich with vegan garlic aioli? Ohhhhhh yeaaaaaa baaaaaaaabyyyy.

img_0695_thumb

And, if all else fails, then I suggest you go to your nearest grocery store, pick up a pint of Ben and Jerry’s Phish Food and call it a night while watching trashy T.V. like the Real Housewives (LOVE them… Theresa + Melissa = scandalous!) not like I know from experience…

I’d like to thank Brittaney for allowing me to do a guest post while she’s away! Isn’t her blog the best? Lovin those 30 minute meal Monday’s and all her running adventures. Plus she’s a personal trainer so she’s pretty badass by association.

PS – Don’t y’all think Britt should’ve taken us all on vacation with her!? I’m jelly! (Jelly = jealous… again, my vocabulary is so advanced. ;))

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2011 10:33 PM

    Love the mantra “Just blow where the wind takes you”. LOVE IT. That needs to be on a bracelet or something!
    Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  2. July 13, 2011 4:17 PM

    Just started a raw challenge on Monday and I am going to make these. I need some cookies in my life. Thank you for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

