Skip to content

Guest Post: Wanna Know More About Cross Fit?

July 13, 2011
Hi Everyone! I’m Jamie and I blog over at J-Fit! My blog follows my life as I attempt to balance my love of food with my new found love of being fit. That’s right, my new found love of being fit. You can read all about my journey here, but let’s just say I haven’t always been so fond of working out. I’m so excited to be guest posting for my first time for Brittaney while she is on vacation and hope you enjoy my post on CrossFit.


My husband started CrossFit 8 months ago and I was terrified when he would describe the work outs to me. It sounded like a foreign language. What is a “hang clean” or a “push jerk”? I would nod and smile as he would tell me about his time at the gym and think to myself that he and everyone else in his gym was crazy. I especially thought this of the girls and would repeatedly ask him if girls actually did these work outs too. He assured me that they did and after a lot of convincing I finally gave in and tried CrossFit for myself. I haven’t looked back since. CrossFit is sweeping the nation and this probably isn’t the first time you have heard about it. If it is, I’m thrilled to be the one to introduce you to it. CrossFit is a core strength and conditioning program that focuses on the ten generally recognized physical skills which are cardiovascular and respiratory endurance, stamina, strength, flexibility, power, speed, coordination, agility, balance and accuracy.Okay so that’s a lot of words. Let’s see if I can break it down for you:

First things first, WOD = Work Out of the Day

There are 3 main types of WOD’s:
1. As many rounds as possible “AMRAP”
The goal of an AMRAP WOD is to get as many rounds as possible of a work out in an allotted amount of time.
Example:
10 minute AMRAP
200m run
20 air squats
20 push ups
2. Rounds for time “RFT”
The goal of a RFT WOD is to complete the designated number of rounds as quick as possible
Example:
3 RFT
400m run
20 kettle bell swings
10 pull-ups
3. Benchmark, “The Girls” or “Hero” WOD’s
Benchmark WODs are a standard set of work outs that are not repeated very often. These WODs are used to measure your progress as you get stronger, fitter and faster. “The Girls” are the typical benchmarks and are named after girls – I honestly  have no idea why! “Hero” WODs are extremly challenging and are done to honor crossfitters who have lost their life in the line of duty.
Example:
“Cindy”
 20 Minute AMRAP
5 Pull-ups
10 Push-ups
15 Squats

Why I love CrossFit:
  1. The Challenge
CrossFit WOD’s continue to be challenging no matter how long you’ve been doing it. Just when it starts to get comfortable, there is always something you can do to challenge yourself. It might be increasing your weight or switching to real push ups from the girly ones. I’m not knocking girly push ups… I used to do them when I started 🙂

2. The Results

Results can be measured in a couple of different ways. An obvious one is how you look physically. Since starting CrossFit, I’ve seen a huge change in my body and while I have only seen the scale drop 6lbs, I’ve gone from a size 8 to a size 4. Another way to measure results is through benchmark WOD’s. Did you do it faster? How about with more weight? Did you make things harder and almost beat your previous time? I highly recommend a fitness log as keeping a log of all of your WODs is a great way to track results.
 
3. The Community
       Everyone knows everyone. How many people can say that they know everyone at their gym? It’s so motivating to have people cheering you on as you work out. We’re a very close nit community that quickly turns from all about working out to all about fun. It’s pretty awesome to see how many new friends I’ve made in CrossFit that have now spilled into my regular life. In the past I would go to the gym, work out and leave without even giving the people around me any thought. Now when I go I want to get there early and I always stay late to catch up with my friends from the gym. It doesn’t end there; we plan lunch dates, shopping trips, and even happy hours!
4. It’s quick, yet effective!
     The vast majority of the work outs take less than 25 minutes. Of those, about half take around 12-15 minutes. I can count on one hand the number of WODs that have taken me over 25 minutes in 6 months, I think that’s pretty good! I wear a heart rate monitor when I work out to track calories burned. The other day in a 20 minute CrossFit WOD I burned 560 calories. The next day I did one of my couch to 10k runs (run 2:00, walk 3:00, repeat 10 times) and in those 50 minutes I burned 540 calories.  Less time spent working out and more calories burned is totally my kind of work out.

Are you looking for a way to spice up your work out routine without spending any money? Try CrossFit at home! There are plenty of CrossFit WODs that can be done in your own home, without any equipment. These are often defined as “Travel WODs” and can basically be any combination of air squats, push ups, sit ups, running, lunges, and burpees. One of my favorites combines push-ups, squats, and running. If you’re not so great at coming up with your own travel WOD, here is a list of 75 body weight WODs that do not require any equipment.

Questions from Jamie:
Have you ever heard of CrossFit or given it a try?
Are you intimidated by new work out routines?
13 Comments leave one →
  1. Sherry J permalink
    July 13, 2011 9:22 AM

    This sounds like such a great workout! I might have to give this a try!

  2. July 13, 2011 10:20 AM

    I’ve been wanting to try crossfit for awhile now it’s just too darn expensive for a college student paying her own way :((

  3. July 13, 2011 1:47 PM

    Wow! You look great! Your before and after picture is amazing! I have always wanted to try CrossFit but it looks really hard. Maybe I will give it a try! Keep up the hard work since you have had great results 🙂

  4. July 13, 2011 2:40 PM

    It is really expensive at the gym but I understand many folks do it from online. Do you have links?

  5. July 13, 2011 3:19 PM

    Hi Chelsea & Wymberley: Check out this link for some great crossfit work outs that you can try at home. The only equiptment mentioned is a jump rope and you can either omit those or pick one up for around $12.00
    http://crossfitdurham.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/Travel-WODs.pdf

    Sandy: Thanks! It is hard but it’s also very scalable. When I first started I couldn’t even hold my own weight on a pull up bar and now I’m so close to being able to actually do a pull up. If you find a great coach,anything is possible!

  6. July 13, 2011 8:03 PM

    Chelsea and Wymberley: You can always do CrossFit work outs at your own gym, a park or even your house. CHeck out the link below for a lot of suggestions on “travel WODs” which only require a jump rope. If you don’t want to buy a jumprope, simply omit those WOD’s.
    http://crossfitdurham.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/Travel-WODs.pdf

    Sandy: Thanks so much for the compliments! CrossFit is hard but it’s also scalable to anyone’s fitness level.

    Also, a lot of CrossFit box’s (gyms) offer free community WOD’s on the weekends. See if you can find one close to you and give it a try!

  7. July 13, 2011 9:52 PM

    Great post Jamie! Let me Tell you Jamie has come a long way. Keep it up

  8. July 14, 2011 7:03 AM

    I’ve never hear of it…but looks like a ton of fun!!

  9. July 14, 2011 7:18 AM

    I’ve heard so many great things about CrossFit! One of my friends does it and she is absolutely hooked. It’s so true about the community aspect of the gym. I’m defiantly going to have to give it a try!

  10. July 14, 2011 9:21 AM

    Well said, Jamie! Now, I am ready for a WOD! LoL

  11. melinda permalink
    July 14, 2011 9:46 AM

    i crossfit with Jamie and she is an inspiration! it can be expensive but is worth every penny! i have paid monthly gym fees for many months and not gotten much out of it. to actually benefit from a program is invaluable! i would definitely recommend trying a free community workout at a local crossfit location. great post jamie! see you at the next wod!

  12. Cristina permalink
    July 14, 2011 4:52 PM

    Great post Jamie!! I ditto all of melinda’s comments 🙂

  13. July 22, 2011 3:13 PM

    Hi Everyone!

    I just wanted to let you all know that my blog has gone to self hosted and the links above are no longer active 😦 My new domain is http://www.Jamie-Fit.com Please follow me over there as I continue to blog about food, fitness, and my crazy life!

    Jamie

Leave a Reply

