Skip to content

Guest Post: Rache’s Favorite Workout DVDs

July 14, 2011

Hello FitChickBritt readers!! I’m really excited to be guest posting for Britt while she’s off on vacation (lucky!!)… To give you a little background on myself, I’m Rachael and I blog over at HappyHealthyRunner about all things running-related, husband-related, and kitty-related. Britt and I actually went to high school together but weren’t really friends until recently when we connected over our mutual love of running. Now we’re both training for 2 upcoming marathons – Rock ‘N Roll San Antonio and the Houston Chevron Marathon! Smile

DSC00155

When I first told Britt I’d guest post for her I had no idea what to write about, but she recently asked me what type of Pilates DVD I used and thus this post was born.

For starters, I am a workout DVD junkie. I love the ease that DVD’s provide, and ease is something I need because I work 40+ hours a week and drive in traffic for at least 30 minutes both ways. I workout in the mornings – so getting to the gym at 5am is virtually impossible for me. With DVD’s there are no excuses, you only have to walk as far as your living room and you really only need hand weights and a mat. Plus I own my own treadmill (thank you Craig’s List!) so there has to be a really good excuse for me to not work out.

rachedvds

I have a couple stand-by favorites though…

When it comes to Pilates I love this DVD:

DSC00292

It’s broken into 5 different 10 minute sections – upper body, lower body, core, and total body circuits, and then a long and limber stretch. I am the world’s worst when it comes to stretching after working out, so I do the long and limber stretch several times a week. One cool feature that the DVD has is that it allows you choose all the workouts, just one of the workouts, or create a custom plan where you can do as many different variations of the 5 workouts as you want.

For a total strength workout my go-to DVD is this Jackie Warner DVD:

untitled

Like the Pilates DVD, it’s broken down into 5 different sections – a 40 minute total body strength circuit, upper body, lower body, and ab circuits, and a 15 minute total body strength circuit. The first time I did the 15 minute total body strength circuit I was so sore. Now I regularly do all the circuits or whichever ones I’m feeling like doing, and I change out heavier weights when I feel like it’s getting too easy.

When it comes to doing strength and cardio, I was Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred fanatic… Until she came out with THIS DVD:

DSC00291

It’s set up just like the 30 Day Shred with a 3-2-1 routine (3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, 1 minute of abs in 3 different circuits) but it’s set up a little differently and is AWESOME.

So if you’re short on time, don’t have a gym membership or are just looking to change it up a bit, I definitely recommend looking into some (or all!) of these DVD’s!

Workout DVDs – do you love ‘em or hate ‘em?

How do you get your strength training in?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. fairyhealthylife permalink
    July 14, 2011 8:10 AM

    I love workout DVDs. Recently I bought bob harpers yoga for the warrior and cardio conditioning. They are really great workouts! He’s so motivational!

  2. Shirelle permalink
    July 14, 2011 8:48 AM

    Hi Rachel! I’m Britt’s sister. Thanks for the DVD rec’s! I am starting a full-time teaching job in–eek!–about three weeks, and this is a really helpful list for me to keep up my workouts during the school year!

  3. July 14, 2011 1:55 PM

    I love workout DVD’s! My favorites include; insanity, tone it up girls, p90x, and 6 week 6 pack by Jillian. OH! And her yoga meltdown DVD is pretty sweet as well!

  4. July 15, 2011 10:58 AM

    I am the type of person who has to get out of the house to exercise, otherwise I keep delaying it! I wish I had the discipline that you have to get up and just do it. I have a treadmill at home and the poor thing never gets any attention!

  5. July 17, 2011 9:52 PM

    I love workouts DVDs, especially because I can’t afford a gym membership right now! My favorite is 30-day shred. I do a few others offered on Netflix Instant like the 10 Minute Solutions, etc.

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga! | Happy Healthy Runner

Leave a Reply

