Skip to content

Vacaaaaaatiooooon

July 15, 2011

Man sometimes it’s rough being on vacation.

051

I’ve got over 300 blog posts to catch up on in my reader. I’ve been using a program called Bloglovin to try and keep track of new posts of all the different blogs I like to read and I like it so far. In all seriousness, though, it obviously is not rough to be on vacation, but I did find myself anxious to see what all you guys were up to Smile.

A huge thanks to Julie, Amanda, Jamie, and Rachael for the great guest posts. Based off the views and comments it looks like my readers really enjoyed your posts.

We had a wonderful time on vacation. It was nice to get away for nearly a week with no cell phone service and the beautiful views of west Texas. The Frio River was really low, but we expected it considering we are in a major 5-year drought here. It didn’t stop us from camping out at a deep spot at Garner State Park and a nice spot near our cabin. We went horse back riding, lounged around in the sun, went for walks, enjoyed the views, made s’mores, played dominos, rented paddle boats, went to the Garner dances at night, oh yeah and we planked Winking smile. It was fabulous.

015

018

035

062

013

049

064

As always I wish I would have taken more pictures!

One thing I will say is that sometimes vacation will stress me out in terms of eating. A week long of eating not so good always leaves me feeling ick when I get home. However, this time I made a big effort to eat healthy like I normally would. Sure, I had a couple Oreos and enjoyed some s’mores, but overall I was conscience of what I ate and felt good all vacation. I even went for a couple runs when I was there.

pink_cartoon_bird_or_chick_0515-1003-1906-0318_SMUFit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Before you reach your vacation destination hit up the grocery store to pick up some healthy quick meals and snacks you enjoy like fresh fruits, almonds, granola, yogurt etc.. That way you have quick and healthy go to option and you don’t have to rely on restaurant food or what others packed to eat. It’ll make you have an even better time on vacation. Smile

At the end of the trip at breakfast we were all discussing what are favorite thing was during the trip. I said my favorite thing was my long run on Sunday and enjoying the views of the river from it. Maybe this sounded like a selfish favorite thing considering during the family vacation the favorite thing I did was the one thing I did alone, but really that wasn’t it. We had left for vacation over 24 hours before my run, but yet, I was still feeling the stress from work and home and not enjoying myself as I should. About midway through my run when I stopped at the top of the hill to get a view of the river from above all my worries had vanished, my adrenaline was up, and I felt I could finally enjoy the rest of my vacation- and I really did.

030

054

How could you not enjoy a run with beautiful views?! So much better than the same boring flat neighborhood roads.

028

019

021

066

I even used my new trail shoes.

020

❤  LOVE them ❤

Well, I’ve got this last little weekend left and then it’s back to the real world.

What have y’all been up to??… fill me in!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 12:59 PM

    Ahhh vacation…I’m in desperate need of one of those. I have to hang on until October. =/

    Great pics and so happy you had a nice relaxing time!

    LOVE those shoes! =)

  2. July 15, 2011 1:10 PM

    Wow your vacation looked like a blast! I’ve never been to the Frio River but I’m obsessed with Austin 🙂 That’s my get away spot haha!

    What’s up with me? Well today I had a root canal and tooth extraction, yippeee. I’m starving and no “soft food” is filling my tummy up like I’d like right now.

  3. July 15, 2011 5:08 PM

    I’m so excited for my vacation in September to Hawaii i can barely stand it.

  4. July 15, 2011 5:32 PM

    Looks like you had a great vacation! Thanks again for letting me guest post!

  5. July 15, 2011 8:45 PM

    Garner State Park is gorgeous and your photos show it hasn’t changed! Did you dance at Crider’s? The oldest dance hall in Texas!
    Your trail shoes are just adorable!!!

  6. July 16, 2011 11:45 PM

    Looks like a FANTASTIC vacation! Glad you’re having a great time! I’m the same, vacation is great, but man, the garbage eating can really catch up! That’s awesome you’re grounded enough to watch what you eat. I certainly didn’t during mine!

  7. shiningfromwithin permalink
    July 17, 2011 7:37 AM

    I would LOVEEE to run with those views! Sounds like you had a lovely vacation 🙂 I love being surrounded by nature on my vacations, I’m not a big fan of crazy busy vacations, I like to enjoy nature and relax!

    And vacation is time to indulge a bit… A few s’mores never killed anyone (I am a s’mores feeeein!) 😉

Leave a Reply

