Skip to content

A Rough Start to a Good Day

July 19, 2011

This is how my morning started…

I slowly repeated to myself afterwards. “Today will be a good day. Today will
be a good day.”

And you know what? I think it worked. Today was not so bad at all! It was a
gloomy day but I stayed busy with work and I ran, swam, and strength trained
today…boo-ya!!

Just the other day we finally hit the bottom of the peanut butter jar
(finally!!) and I knew I had to make some overnight oats. Ok, well obviously
since I was making them this morning and with quick cook oats they’re not
overnight oats per say… but let’s pretend.

In the mix:

  • The remnants of  peanut butter in jar
  • 1/2 cup quick cook oats
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1 t flax seed

I may or may have not made some really loud noises when I caught hubby trying
to scrape the last of the peanut butter out of the jar for his toast. Doesn’t he
know what to do with an almost empty peanut butter jar?! Certainly not waste it
on toast! Sheesh.

Between my two work shifts I had lunch that included nothing green because I
needed to go grocery shopping so bad. This was a new kind of burrito (evol
brand) I bought for quick lunches and it was really really good! Contains :
Scrambled eggs,  organic herb roasted potatoes, red & green
bell peppers, monterey jack cheese and an authentic tomato salsa.

I was craving something green so I decided to high-tail it to the grocery
store. I had in hand a new list. Since I had decided to give
up meat for lent
I have *mostly* followed a vegetarian diet. I have realized
I really do feel great on a plant based diet IF I have groceries and I’m not
stuck eating all processed foods of course. I think its really easy to eat an
unhealthy diet if you’re not eating meat ie. carbs, cheese, processed foods,
sweets, fried foods, but it can be really beneficial if you focus on getting the
right amounts of vegetables, fruits, grains, healthy fats, and proteins in your
diet.

I am really interested in learning more about following a plant based diet
and being an endurance athlete so I signed up for the No Meat Athlete’s
E-Course
. First of all, the No Meat
Athlete
has an awesome blog that shares so much insightful information about
benefits of a plant based diet for anyone, how to get started being vegetarian,
recipes,  and experience of how he finally qualified for the Boston Marathon by
becoming a No Meat Athlete. The E-course is a sort of compilation of the most
helpful information from his site specifically for endurance athletes. I have
already received emails for recipes, training information, and a grocery list.

I took that grocery list with me to the store today and am excited to try a
couple new things.

Bragg’s Amino Acids- used in place of soy sauce

Grape Nuts Cereal- Very high in carbohydrates and Iron

MaraNatha Almond Butter- HEB was out of their brand of almond butter so I
decided to give this brand a try. I also found PB2 which I didn’t know HEB
carried until I was meandering around.

Most things on the list were things I’ve actually been buying since switching
to a veggie diet, so it was nice to print a list out without having to draw up
my own 😉 Other things on the list included sweet potatoes, lentils, black beans, wheat pasta,
popcorn, lots of fruits and vegetables, including leafy greens which I enjoyed
along side a mini zucchini pizza for dinner.

A top the Pizza:

  • Roasted Red Pepper Marinara Sauce
  • 1/8 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup grated zuchinni

Call me a dork, but grocery shopping makes me giddy so that plus a good day
at work and all my workouts made today a good day!

So tell me, Grocery shopping, Love it or hate it?? What was the best
thing you got at the grocery store last time you went?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 12:35 PM

    I LOOOOOVE grocery shopping! and almost empty oats jars are most definitely for overnight oats NOT scraping the remains out for toast.

  2. shiningfromwithin permalink
    July 20, 2011 2:51 PM

    LOVE grocery shopping. It’s so euphoric to me haha.

    Omg I would die if that happened to me in the morning! Good thing you still had some left for your oats. 🙂
    I love No Meat Athlete’s site as well, I need to read it more often!
    That’s great you’re transitioning to a no meat diet… keep us updated!

  3. July 20, 2011 5:37 PM

    I am getting hungry looking all this “GOOD” food. I need to start eating better! I don’t love or hate grocery shopping but I do get excited to go shopping to try new things. I tried coconut water for the first time since it is supposed to be a good source of hydration. I think I want to try that zucchini pizza! It looks really good!

  4. July 20, 2011 7:14 PM

    You should get one of those “Runs on Plants” t-shirts he has on his website! They’re super cute! I HATE grocery shopping, but mostly because I’m picky, so I have to go to several stores to get what I want, and then I usually get home and Carlos says, “Sweetie, could you pick up such and such next time you go to the store? We’re out.” I do love MaraNatha’s Dark Chocolate Almond Butter, though. My latest great find at the grocery store was some Seeds of Change ready to heat rice (http://www.seedsofchangefoods.com/our_foods/category.aspx?id=rth). We’re ALWAYS on the go, so it’s nice to have something less processed and more organic than the Uncle Ben’s alternative. Also, thank you mucho for introducing me to overnight oats! I’m hooked! : D

  5. July 20, 2011 8:26 PM

    I finally have an empty PB jar, so I will get to make infamous overnight oats that everyone raves about! Super excited!

    Eh…I don’t too much care for grocery shopping, though I probably hit up the store a few times a week cuz God forbid I were to make a plan, make a list, and take care of business accordingly. haha!

  6. July 20, 2011 9:38 PM

    I’ve never used Braggs, but have been intrigued! I’m anxious to hear what you think…and how it tastes.

    Your pizza muffin looks delicious!

  7. July 21, 2011 6:38 AM

    Just goes to show you it’s all about attitude, just don’t let it be a bad day! I like that! Will remember next time things start out rough.

  8. Casey permalink
    July 21, 2011 10:37 PM

    I love grocery shopping!! It relaxes me. 🙂 Something about grocery stores just makes me happy.

  9. July 27, 2011 6:27 PM

    I love that you buy the same things I do at heb – the heb brand egg whites, PB2, marantha almond butter -creamy!!! 🙂 Great job in your training. Keep it up Britt 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. RNR Marathon Training Recap Week 2 « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

