Skip to content

RNR Marathon Training Recap Week 2

July 27, 2011

Note to self:

Keeping the liquid egg whites and the half and half right next to each other in the refrigerator was not my brightest idea.

Coffee attempt #2 muuuuch better…

Last week I spill my oatmeal all over the floor this week it’s egg whites in the coffee. I wonder what next week will bring?!

Alright so I think I owe a little recap of last weeks marathon training. Here’s what was supposed to go down:

 

 

 

Here’s what happened:

By the time Sunday rolled around I was in need of a major rest day. My lower body strength was pretty intense on Friday; I increased the weight by 10 pounds from the usual for  lunges, squats, and deadlifts and my hamstrings were feeling it up until yesterday. Not to mention my 5-killer-miles from Saturday had me feeling whiped! I did get to squeeze my long run of 9 miles in last night and thankfully this weekend long run is a cut back week, so I should be all recovered by the weekend.

I’ve been finding I’m really struggling in the motivation department lately and I can’t decide what is causing it. I was pondering it last night and I determined it is really the heat that’s getting to me. My workout time has been in the afternoons lately when the heat is at it’s peak. I’ve been throwing in a lot of extra treadmill runs and gym time which is great for intervals and quick runs, but I find the treadmill pretty brutal for long runs. I think this is the first time I’ve trained for a distance race in the summer. I usually stick to 5 or 10k’s for the summer months. Can’t wait for fall and some cooler weather!

I’ve been feeling good about sticking with 2 days of strength training per week. In my last marathon I completely dropped strength training and I think it hurt me in the long run. I plan to keep it up every week this go-round.

So, how about you? Are you training for a race right now? How is it going?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 9:34 AM

    I have also noticed that the heat has taken a toll on my workouts as I also work out in the early evenings (around 6:00pm) I’m considering changing up my routine and trying to get up early to work out when it’s not so hot, but I love my sleep!

  2. Sherry J. permalink
    July 27, 2011 9:36 AM

    I’m training for the Muddy Outlaw Dash – its a 5k obstacle course! I just love those runs cause they are never boring!

  3. July 27, 2011 10:05 AM

    What do you use for your weekly workout recaps? I’m guessing it’s just print screened but I really like how it looks and the organization of it!

    That really stinks about first batch of coffee, but still really funny hahha. That would’ve tasted horrrribbbly nasty lol.

    • July 27, 2011 10:24 AM

      I created the plan in google documents and I just use print screen to take a snapshot of it.

  4. July 27, 2011 12:14 PM

    I’m training for my first half marathon @ Disney in October! Training is tough so far, I get so bored on my runs!

  5. July 27, 2011 1:12 PM

    I’m training for RNR SA and also struggling in the motivation department. This heat is absolutely brutal and I can’t stand the “dreadmill” for anything longer than five miles. Sadly I’ve had to resort to waking up at 5:30 to get my runs in before it gets to be scorching. I think we are following about the same plan because this week is a step-back week for me as well. Thank goodness!

  6. shiningfromwithin permalink
    July 27, 2011 4:50 PM

    ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww eggwhites on coffee!!!!!! hahaha

    well, my half is at the end of august and I don’t know if I’d do another summer long race again, either! it’s hard to train outside when it’s so hot because you feel so weak and then get so unmotivated and beat yourself up because your pace is dropping since its so hot.

    I have done most of my runs on the treadmill (which is a surprise) but I really have no other options and I’m not willing to risk my life (literally) for a run outside. I just keep my training goals in mind and that somehow seems to be pushing me through my hard moments..

  7. July 28, 2011 11:03 AM

    Hahaha oh egg whites in the coffee! I do things like that ALL the time!

    I’m not training for a race but I have made a running plan to finally get my butt back in gear. I am loving it so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

