Skip to content

Makeup Free Friday & Scars

July 29, 2011

Good Morning!

Happy Makeup Free Friday!

First, before you do anything else, check out my guest post about stretching on Rachael’s blog.

I am off to work this morning and afterwards I am on the road headed to Fort Worth to see my sister and family. Can’t wait!

I was noticing in my Makeup Free photo you can really see the 2 scars I have on my forehead. I used to be really self conscience about those two scars because people would always point them out or ask me about them, but now they don’t really bother me all that bad. Scars can make us unique 🙂

The top one is from falling off my bunkbed when I was little. My mom says I actually had to have plastic surgery to get it back to looking normal. The other is from some brotherly-sisterly love. My brother had stitches on the bottom of his foot and I was laughing at him for the way he was hobbiling around. He got mad and threw a magnet at me and it hit me smack in the middle of the forehead and then I had to get stitches. Oh the irony.

Do you have any cool scars? I have a few I’m “proud” of.

I’ve got this from when I was training for my first triathlon. I was borrowing a friends bike that was a little too big and it had those old metal pedals with the teeth on it. When I was on a training ride one day somehow my foot slipped off the pedal, I wiped out, and the metal prongs on the pedals went up the back of my right leg. It was painful and I had to get a tetnus shot, but I was back to training in a few days.

I recently acquired this one on my right arm from a killer baking accident. I was pulling a pan of muffins out of the oven with my left hand and I accidentally hit my right arm with it. Ouch! It hurt!

I also have a little scar on my knee from when I was little and got bit (pinched) by a crab at the beach. I was so terrified of the beach and water and that incident totally solidified my fears.

What about you? Do you have any cool scar stories to tell?

****If you have a picture of yourself sporting makeup free Friday please email it to me at FitChickBritt at mail.com to be featured in an upcomming Makeup Free Friday Post****

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 11:00 AM

    I think scars make people BEAUTIFUL!

    I really don’t have any though, a few tiny tiny ones on my hands and around my knees, and two teeny ones from surgery, but nothing awesome.

  2. July 29, 2011 11:52 AM

    I have the same scars most girls who had bangs had…..little burn marks from the stupid curling iron!

  3. July 29, 2011 2:54 PM

    I have a ton of scars… I had a really bad habit of falling off my bike and roller blades as a kid. I also got a brutal one on my left calf from a dirt biking incident a few years ago. That one’s still a little sensitive even though it was over 2 years ago! This post really makes me want to document all of my injuries 🙂

    Love the story of your brother throwing the magnet at you. Classic!

  4. July 29, 2011 4:11 PM

    I have so many scars ha! My worst is probably on my knee from fishing with my dad and slipping on rocks on the pier *youch*. I should’ve gotten stitches for it probably.

  5. July 29, 2011 4:23 PM

    I have matching scars on my shins from knee diving into a pool. The ring around the pool was made of concrete, so first it scraped and then it BURNED.

    I also have a pretty wicked scar on my right thigh from when I was going down some stairs on my mountain bike when I was 10, and then at this really sharp corner my friend popped out of nowhere and I fell in an effort to avoid her. Upon falling, my handlebar dug into my skin and made a flap about 3 inches long pull back. (the handlebar grip had lost the edge so it was like an open pipe digging in. Gruesome.)

  6. July 29, 2011 7:11 PM

    Awwww the crabbies! Crabs are scary, not gonna lie…they are kinda cute tho. 😉 the irony of you and your brother…and a magnet?!? LOL

    I can’t think of any scars I have off the top of my head but I do have a little one on my left hand by my thumb that’s recent from something stupid I did but I can’t remember what haha

  7. Kalli and Bill permalink
    July 30, 2011 8:20 AM

    i just have to say you look absolutely beautiful with no makeup! and yes scars tell a story for sure and also how tough you are 😉 enjoy your weekend!

  8. July 31, 2011 4:41 PM

    Sigh, I love makeup free days; you look great!

  9. August 1, 2011 5:33 PM

    I love scars!! I don’t really have any noticeable ones except from two that I have on my fingers from being bit by a barracuda. It allows me to tell that awesome story and show the battle wounds. I also emailed you a make-up free photo but it can make as undeliverable. Am I doing something wrong?

  10. August 2, 2011 7:20 AM

    no scars …but i have a birth mark on my lip that LOOKS LIKE i got punched kind of…its the size of a drop of water haha

Leave a Reply

