Skip to content

30 Minute Meal Monday: Gazpacho

August 8, 2011

Happy Monday my Friends! yes, I said Happy! Smile 

I headed off for my first day on the new job today and it was great. I’m hoping to get into a good routine as far as work, working out, cooking, blogging, keeping up with the housework, and getting some quality Hubby and doggie time in. I think it can be done and I function best when I have a set routine.

005

I’ve been thinking lately about maybe incorporating some fashion or outfit of the day on the blog. Not that I’m the most fashionable person, but I find fashion interesting (especially striving to be frugal and fashionable) and I think it’d be some motivation to sport some cute clothes Winking smile Would y’all like that?

Anyways, moving on! It’s Monday and you know what that means… The Bachelor Pad starts tonight It’s time for 30 Minute Meal Monday.

Tonight I made Gazpacho. Not only is Gazpacho such a fun word to say. Come on say it… GaZpAcho!! Gaz-PACHO!

When I went to visit my sister, Shirelle, last weekend she introduced me to Gazpacho. Gazpacho is a Spanish soup to enjoy in the summer time because it’s served cold. I think this soup tops my other Summer Soup.

Last weeks soup at Shirelle’s was so good because we stopped by a local farmers market in Ft. Worth and picked up some delicious farm fresh vegetables. 

003

I made a couple changes to the recipe because I couldn’t quite remember what we had put into it, but it ended up tasting phenomenal!

Love inhaling all these fresh vegetables.

007

Here’s what you need:

  • 4 med. tomatoes, diced
  • bell pepper (red or green), cored and diced
  • Red onion, died
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 3-4 stalks green onion, chopped
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 large cucumber diced
  • 4 cups tomato juice
  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 cloves chopped garlic

 

The only thing about this recipe is that it’s kinda difficult. Seriously guys brace yourselves here…

Put everything in a pot.

013

Take about 3/4 of the contents of the pot and blend in blender. Return soup to pot. Then, it’s ready to serve.

015

I told you this is tough stuff.

I will tell you though you can put the gazpacho in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight to really intensify the flavors.

Of course, hubby said, “Ewww cold soup!” and decided he was going to heat his up in the microwave. The house smelled so good that even Dolly was begging for it. Apparently she likes vegetables.

021

The soup is best served with crusty bread so I scoured the grocery store for what sounded best and found these wonderful Cheesy Jalapeno rolls. Kroger has a great bread station where you can choose an assortment of fresh-baked rolls and breads for 3/$1. Although I’d never even bought any before, I’d eyed the bread dozens of times so I decided to go for it and they were scrumptious!!

017

Hope y’all are enjoying your Monday  night! We’re one more day closer to Friday.

 

Have you ever tried Gazpacho or any cold soup? What’s the best thing that happened to you this Monday?

brittsig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2011 6:53 AM

    Not to knock the soup- because I’m sure it is good- but now all I can think about is a cheesy jalapeno roll and it isn’t even 8am yet… I’ve had good and bad cold soups- yours looks pretty good!

  2. August 9, 2011 8:28 AM

    I’ve always wanted to try Gazpacho! Looks delicious and sounds like it would hit the spot in this awful heat!

    Congrats on your new job – that is exciting! =)

    Didn’t have such a great Monday, so I’ll just say the best thing was going home from work and listening to my audio book for 30 minutes of peace.

  3. August 9, 2011 8:50 AM

    Congrats on your new job! And that soup looks YUM!! Since you asked about fashion, I have a question that’s totally applicable for you and this blog. Since I’ve been more active, the only downside is that my hair has taken a serious beating from all the extra washing, blow-drying and straightening I’ve had to do. How do you keep your hair from drying out? I noticed you wear it wavy a lot- is it because you air dry it? Is there a special product you use to get it to do that?

    • August 9, 2011 6:00 PM

      I struggle with my hair being so dry and brittle because I wash it so much too as well. Honestly, I try not to wash it too often. If I workout at night one day I’ll try to workout in the morning the next day to keep from having to wash it twice from each workout. In the last year I’ve stopped highlighting my hair and I’ve also stopped blowdrying and straightening it as much (maybe once or twice a week). I let it air dry all the time because of this. My advice would be to get a moiturizing shampoo and conditioner and use a heat protecant spray when you blow dry and straighten it.

  4. August 9, 2011 9:33 AM

    Congrats again on the new job. The soup looks really good. I wonder if I could get the hubs on board for it. What did the hubs think of it warm? Mine would probably do the same. Oh and dumb question, how long do you cook it in the pot??

    • August 9, 2011 6:01 PM

      Since it’s a cold soup you don’t have to cook it. The purpose of the pot is to just mix it before you put 3/4 of it in the blender.

  5. August 12, 2011 9:08 PM

    yay for the new job! would love to see fashion posts…I’m into that kinda stuff and seeing what people are wearing! I think all soup is best served with crusty bread mmmmmm

  6. August 16, 2011 7:50 AM

    Yum! Your gazpacho looks delicious! I’ve never made my own but this totally do-able 🙂

Leave a Reply

