Skip to content

Active Weekend

August 14, 2011

While I was contemplating my weekend and what I wanted to get done I started thinking back to what my weekends were like when I first started working an 8-5 job after college. At the time,  I went from working at a restaurant with a really flexible schedule, having all kinds of time to train for races and reach fitness goals to sitting at a desk all day and having limited day light to get a good work out in during the week. So when I started working this set schedule during the week I would get really excited about the weekend coming up because I knew I’d have tons more free time to get in some exercise and I could train for different events and I would always take advantage of the extra time.

Somehow in the last few months with being busy at work, going to school for personal training, battling the Houston heat this summer, and changing jobs I kind of forgot about my active weekends. I’ve been getting my “planned” runs in but I haven’t made it a point to really enjoy the outdoors. Getting settled at the new job, which I’m really enjoying btw, I didn’t workout as much as I wanted to this past week so I really wanted to take advantage of the weekend to regroup and get back to being active on the weekend.

Saturday I had 12 miles scheduled, but I decided to make it 13. I set my alarm for 6:15 to get up and run solo. Then, somehow, my alarm didn’t go off and needless to say I didn’t wake up and I didn’t get started running until nearly 8:30 (figures). The run started off AWESOME I was trucking along at a 9:30 pace feeling great for about 7 miles. I even found some sprinklers to run through around mile 4 and then again at mile 5. A TX runners dream in August:

running through sprinklers running

 

After the first 7 miles the heat and humidity was getting to me and slowed me waaay down. I had to stop for water about every mile, but I got the 13 miles done.

For some reason this weekend I was really craving getting out on my bike. I think for this hot weather cycling provides a great form of cross-training while still being able to enjoy the outdoors. I’m thrilled because I found a cycling group really close to my area that I think I will be re-visiting often! We road 23 miles this morning. I always find it a little scary to go join a group where you don’t know anyone, but I (wo)maned up and decided to just go. Everyone was really nice even though I stuck out like a sore thumb in all my pink gear and I found someone around my pace (slow lol) to hang with.

009

 

Also today I had 6 miles on my running schedule that I didn’t want to miss out on. I laced up and headed out the door this evening and rocked out 6 awesome miles. I really pushed myself hard given the heat and was happy with both my time and effort. I felt physically and mentally strong.

011

Right now I’m feeling really great about my fitness and activity level and that was what I was hoping for by the end of this weekend. I’m really excited about a few upcoming races and looking forward to next weekend to bang out more biking and running!

 

What kind of activity did you do this weekend? Do you make it a point to add in extra physical activities when you have more free time on the weekends?

 

P.S. I joined Daily Mile! Add me if you want Smile 

brittsig

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 9:28 PM

    You’re such a rockstar, Britt! If you don’t mind me asking, where are you taking classes for Personal Training? I’m looking into getting my certification too.

  2. August 14, 2011 10:34 PM

    I agree with Lauren! I’m interested in a PT degree along side my BS in kinesiology I’m studying to get 🙂

    You were definitely kicking some major butt and getting your miles in this week though! Way to go girl! One day I’ll be capable of running a half marathon in August heat as the suns coming up…(maybe not ha!). I alwaaaays run through sprinklers haha! They feel amazing specially when they’re extra cold. I kicked it up (well, for me ha!) and ran 7 miles straight with my boyfriend (he biked next to me) on Saturday. It’s my longest just running distance and I was psyched lol.

  3. August 15, 2011 7:56 AM

    Nice workouts! I had a long run on Saturday and then just a short 3miler and weights on Sunday. I’ll add you to my dailymile.

  4. August 15, 2011 4:24 PM

    You are one of my heros – so awesome in your commitment to staying active no matter how busy life gets! You are such a role-model!

    I love your pink helmet, by the way!

    I’ve decided to incorporate swimming into my schedule this week for my cross-training. I’m really looking forward to it!

  5. August 15, 2011 10:26 PM

    Love your PINK helmet!

Leave a Reply

