Skip to content

Lake Houston 10k Recap

August 27, 2011

Before today I’d only ran one 10k race so I was anxious to see if I could set myself a new PR!

And guess who accompanied me on the race today?!

002

❤ HUBBY! ❤

Unfortunately, my dad was  unable to participate in the 10k today because he hurt his knee Sad smile but luckily hubby was there to take his race place. Somehow I convinced him to get out of bed at 5:00 am to run the 5k.

003

We woke up early this morning, chugged some Gatorade(regretted this later) and had a banana and were off to make the drive to Kingwood. We arrived at the race with a lot of time to spare, and just before the race I ran into fellow blogger Chelsea, whom I’d never met before. It was really nice to meet her and she had an awesome race. Check out her recap.

Post-race sweatiness beauty.

The race was a pretty simple course that took off out of a shopping center and went up one side of the street to a turn around, up the other side to another turn around and then back into the shopping center. I took off at a pretty fast pace and was feeling great, but I started to slow a lot for miles 5 and 6. Because of the bridges it seemed slightly hilly (for Houston) and it was HUMID. I’m totally not used to running in the mornings when the humidity is as it’s highest. In the end I did end up setting a PR with official time of 52:20.

011

All in all the race was fun and I enjoyed having Hubby’s company (he did AWESOME on the 5k and set himself a PR Smile )

We moseyed around the race tents for a little while collecting goodies and had fun taking pictures with the fire trucks and helicopters they had there.

005

009

It was a fun morning! Now the rest of the day is for relaxing and hopefully getting my new pedals put on my bike Smile 

 

Have a great Saturday!

P.S. I apparently won 3rd place in my age group but didn’t realize it or pick up my award. Ooops!

brittsig

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2011 2:05 PM

    I don’t know how you did it in the heat! Way to go!
    I hope you will follow my new blog, I changed formats to a food and fitness blog.

  2. August 27, 2011 2:11 PM

    Ah the humidity was killing me as well! Boo for normally being night runners in Houston haha. We set those PRs just to get out of the humidity probably lolz 😉
    I’m so glad we both had an amazing experience though!

  3. August 27, 2011 3:01 PM

    Yayy!! Glad you had a good race! (:

  4. August 27, 2011 7:28 PM

    Congrats on a great race!

  5. August 27, 2011 8:13 PM

    OMG that’s me and my friend in the background! I’m eating a banana, lol! Congrats on placing 3rd!

  6. shiningfromwithin permalink
    August 27, 2011 8:20 PM

    CongrAts! 🙂 love the race outfit, too!

  7. August 28, 2011 8:00 AM

    Congrats! It was hot yesterday morning…we started at 430 to avoid the sun! Love the pink & yellow kicks 🙂

  8. August 28, 2011 1:46 PM

    Congratulations to both you and your husband on the PRs! What a feat considering the heat!!

  9. Casey permalink
    August 28, 2011 7:06 PM

    Glad you had a good race. 🙂 Congrats!

  10. August 29, 2011 6:20 AM

    Congrats on your PR! Yeah, I always have a bitter war with myself over what time do go out there and get it done – mornings are sooo ridiculously humid and the evenings are still quite hot. =/ Ready for fall – or at least our version of it! =)

Trackbacks

  1. Re-learning Lessons in Running « Fit Chick Britt
  2. Weekend Recap | The Sweet Life
  3. Putting My Cards on the Table « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

