Skip to content

Quick and Easy Meals

September 7, 2011

I’ve noticed a pattern lately. The more I’m working out the less I’m cooking. I still strive to make sure I’m serving up healthy dishes, but I just haven’t been giving myself much time to spend hours in the kitchen to whip up a new recipe, and I’m okay with that.

My schedule has been pretty jam packed between the new job, my new commute, general household responsibilities, and training for an Olympic tri. I do miss devoting more time to cooking and I’ve got a couple recipes I’m looking forward to trying this week.

In the meantime I will leave you with the quick and easy meals I’ve been serving up as of late.

Baked Tilapia, Sweet Potato, and Roasted Broccoli

003

This meal took all of 12 minutes to roast the tilapia and broccoli. Kroger sells these great sweet potatoes that come pre-wrapped and ready to be microwaved and enjoyed-quick-easy-and nutritious.

Jenna’s Alphabet Stoup

028

This was soo good and only took about 15-minutes, and I actually had all the ingredients on hand. Pasta, spinach, diced tomatoes, garlic, feta cheese, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and for kicks I added some red onion.

Mexican Burritos

018

This meal was less than 10-minutes and delicious. You need:

  • One can of refried or whole beans, I used refried black
  • One can of diced tomatoes
  • One handful of cilantro
  • 1/4 diced red onion
  • cheese for optional topping
  • whole wheat tortillas

Put the two cans, cilantro, and red onions in a pot on medium high heat and cook thoroughly. When finished, serve in a heated tortilla with toppings (cheese, sour cream, creek yogurt, onions). Yields 4-5 packed burritos.

What’s your favorite quick go-to meals?  How do you find balance between working out, cooking, and taking care of everyday things?

brittsig

9 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    September 7, 2011 6:18 PM

    burritos <3333 I am craving enchiladas now and multiple chips and salad.

    When I don't plan my meals, I too fall subject to eating whatever is easiet to throw together but lately I've been prepping everything (or buying it pre-cut) and it's been pretty easy!

    Cooking helps me keep my sanity… 🙂 It's a great release to me and so calming

    • shiningfromwithin permalink
      September 7, 2011 6:18 PM

      oops *salsa LOL

  2. September 8, 2011 12:20 AM

    Great post! Quick and easy meals are a MUST know for a busy week. I’ll definitely be using some of these in the near future.

  3. September 8, 2011 6:37 AM

    I’m the same way, I don’t devote a whole lot of time to cooking. Quick & easy meals is how I exist!

  4. September 9, 2011 3:44 PM

    Oh my gosh! I got really excited when I saw you refer to Kroger. I used to shop there all the time when I was in college in Michigan, but now I’m stuck with my East Coast grocery stores!

  5. September 10, 2011 6:45 PM

    My favorite quick meal is a grilled cheese and salad 🙂

  6. September 10, 2011 10:24 PM

    My favorite quick go to meal growing up was “tortillas.” My brother and I would put refried beans and cheese on a tortilla in the microwave and then top it with salsa. I guess we were really making quesidillas! But I still love these and call them tortillas.

  7. Kalli and Bill permalink
    September 11, 2011 4:38 PM

    oh i love the alphabet soup! takes me back to when i was a kid 🙂

  8. September 11, 2011 5:54 PM

    mMmMm im so in need of quick meals!! I love these 🙂

Leave a Reply

