Skip to content

I Heart Saturday

September 11, 2011

Had an awesome Saturday. Seriously. My favorite kind. I was active, spent some time with friends, ate some good food, and relaxed.

But first before I tell you all about it I need to wish a certain special someone a Happy Birthday.

007

It was on Thursday, but being the bad little blogger I’ve been I haven’t posted since then. Embarrassed smile Better late than never, right?

Friday night we spent celebrating hubby’s birthday with family. Saturday morning I got up early for what was supposed to be an 18-mile long run, but I had been debating with the wildfire and the smoke that has been in the area if spending nearly three hours outside breathing in the air was a good idea. I decided to change my plans and head to the gym. There was no way I was going to make it 18 miles on the dreadmill. Rachael I don’t know how you do it. The longest I’ve ran on a treadmill is 14 and it was pretty agonizingly boring.

I went to spin class for an hour and then I traded out my cycling shoes for running shoes to conquer 10-miles on the treadmill.

014

It actually wasn’t so bad. Hubby let me borrow his IPod because mine was nearly dead and it was fun to have some new tunes to run too. I hammered out a progressive 10-miles, getting faster each mile. I started warming up at a 10:00 pace and finished out mile 10 in 7:58, for an average of 8:45/mile. I was excited to finally be getting back to my old long run pace!

After showering and all that good stuff Hubby and I made lunch. Football season is in full swing and we were in the mood for some tail-gaiting type food so we made Paula Deans Beer Brats. I wasn’t going to even have one, but I caved and went for it and it was YUMMY. You actually boil the brats in beer and onions and then you finish the brats off by sautéing them in a pan with more onions and red bell pepper.

020

017

Football, beer brats,  quality time with the hubby, and sparkling white wine. A perfect relaxing evening.

030

Later Lori came over and we took Dolly for a 2-mile walk. When we got back to the house we were trying to figure out what we wanted to do. We watched a little Miss Congeniality until I had a bright idea. YOGA! I never did celebrate Salutation Nation yesterday (annual international day of yoga meant to bring yogis from all over the world together). I thought since I didn’t practice in the morning with the rest of the world ending the day with Yoga would be perfect. Lori had never actually practiced yoga before and I thought it was the perfect day to expose her to the art. She loved it! We did nearly an hour of yoga between the two yoga videos I have and felt so wonderful afterwards. I heart yoga.

035

It was a pleasant way end to the perfect Saturday. Namaste.

brittsig

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 8:50 PM

    10 miles on a treadmill sounds horrible to me as well! Anything that isn’t a speed/tempo run on a treadmill just isn’t for me. I can’t zone out and ignore the fact I’m on a treadmill haha. Way to go girl!

  2. Lori permalink
    September 11, 2011 9:24 PM

    I bought my own yoga mat today so I am ready for many more rounds!

  3. September 11, 2011 9:30 PM

    I love your bike shoes and your pink knife! I don’t know how you do even 10 miles on the treadmill. I am loving the “cool” (for TX!) weather lately for outdoor exercise.

  4. September 11, 2011 10:17 PM

    Haha, it’s allllll mental my friend! I much prefer outside, but if it’s gotta be on the treadmill so be it!

    I did 8 outside today and now my throat hurts :-/

  5. September 12, 2011 3:01 AM

    10 on a treadmill? I think I’d die. No, I’ve done that before and I guess it wasn’t so bad because I had a lot of distractions (audio book, tv, music, etc)

  6. September 12, 2011 6:29 AM

    Wow, I can’t imagine 14 or 18 miles on a treadmill. I think the furthest I’ve gone is 6!
    Glad your Saturday was awesome!

  7. September 12, 2011 10:17 AM

    sounds like a great weekend! mmmm…beer brauts!

  8. September 13, 2011 4:38 AM

    Happy birthday to you hubby- that first picture is hysterical!

Leave a Reply

