Skip to content

Sundays are Just as Good as Saturdays Maybe Better

September 12, 2011

Yesterday I confessed my love for Saturday. Today I will tell you how much I love Sundays. Especially yesterday’s it was superb.

Woke up early to cycle with my dad. Last weeks attempt didn’t go so well complete with 2 flat tires, but this week was glorious. 25 miles done and done.

039

I really enjoyed the cycle because riding with someone else gave me the opportunity to push my pace. The whole time we were hanging around 17.5-18.0 mph (better than my usual 15-16mph). I was feeling really strong on the bike and I think all the spin and cycling I’ve been doing has helped me out. Seeing progress is one of the things that keeps me coming back for more in terms of running, cycling, or any physical activity really.

I came home and enjoyed some coffee a la coffee press with my Hubby. I had picked up a sample pack of local pumpkin spice coffee. It was delicious and had the perfect amount of spice. I will definitely be back for more of this brand coffee and I love the idea of supporting local businesses.

043

Enjoyed from our Dallas Cowboy coffee mugs to get in the mood for the game! Let’s go COWBOYS!

048

After coffee and some PB toast I headed to finish off my workout and ran an easy-ish 6.2 miles. After a 25 mile bike and a 10k run I think I’m officially ready for my Olympic tri in two weeks.

For lunch I made stuffed bell peppers which I thought were just OK, it needed something else. I mixed black beans, salsa, and chopped cilantro, stuffed the mix inside a cored bell pepper, and baked at 350-degrees for 30 minutes.

050

051

052

The rest of the day was filled with restocking my produce for the week, cleaning up the house, and snuggling on the couch watching football with the family.

Hope you had just as good of a weekend as me!

brittsig

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 12:22 PM

    sounds like you’re missing a grain! Adding some quinoa or barley would make the mix inside really good – and maybe add some more spices! Sounds like a good bike ride with your dad, I love doing things with my dad!

  2. September 12, 2011 2:40 PM

    I agree, their coffee is very good! I will have to try that flavor! And why not try adding some quinoa or some wild and brown rice to the stuffing for your peppers? If you like supporting local, RiceSelect makes a great brown, red and wild rice blend we go through at least every month. You can find it at Kroger and at HEB. Good luck on your tri and thanks so much for your encouragement on my blog! : D

  3. September 12, 2011 2:50 PM

    Sounds like you had a lovely Sunday!

    Whenever I feel like my food needs a little something extra, I usually just dump a little more salt into it haha. It’s terrible but it usually works 😉

  4. September 12, 2011 3:09 PM

    I love stuffed peppers! Try mixing in rice next time or quinoa… it adds a little extra something I find. Great ride too, you’ll do great in your tri I’ll bet!

  5. September 12, 2011 3:10 PM

    Ooh, where do you live? Because I LOVE pumpkin spice and I also love supporting local busniesses! Can I get a packet of those from NYC?

    Fall football + cozying up on Sundays and Saturdays … can’t ask for anything better than that!

  6. September 12, 2011 6:41 PM

    I LOVE pumpkin spice coffee this time of year 🙂

  7. September 13, 2011 11:44 AM

    Oooo I love making stuffed peppers. I had a good weekend too. I think my Saturdays are always better than Sundays, but Sundays are still good!

  8. September 13, 2011 8:22 PM

    I think I’m the only weirdo in the world who doesn’t like pumpkin spice! But lovely sounding Sunday. Can’t wait to read about your Oly tri!

  9. September 13, 2011 10:56 PM

    I got pumpkin spice coffee for my Keurig. I am in love with it:) I love the pic of you and your dad biking. I wish my dad lived closer so I could ride with him!

Leave a Reply

