Skip to content

You Don’t Have to be a Runner

September 14, 2011

It seems that over the last decade running has swept the nation. Marathon registration numbers have sky-rocketed over the last few years.

Even celebrities have been joining in on the fun.

 

When I first started to get into running I honestly didn’t even know marathons and 5k’s existed until my sister presented the idea of running a 5k with her. Ever since training for and running that first 5k I’ve been hooked on running. I’ve declared several times here on the blog why I love running and I can’t stress enough how much I actually enjoy training, racing, and challenging myself to new distance events.

konetri

The main reason I love running is truly because first, I enjoy it, and secondly, it’s opened my eyes to living a healthy lifestyle I didn’t have before. But you know what? Not everyone loves running and that’s ok! You don’t have to be a runner to be healthy.

011

Don’t get me wrong, running is a wonderful way to live a healthy lifestyle, but you don’t have to be a runner to practice healthy living. You don’t have to train for races or force yourself to go out for a run when you just don’t want to or you just don’t enjoy it.

Living healthy is simply finding balance between taking care of life’s demands while also making the time to care for your mental and physical health and happiness.

One of the key components to being healthy is exercising. This is where running comes into play for many people. Exercise is a wonderful thing for our bodies and the beautiful thing about it is that there are so many different ways you can exercise. You don’t have to force yourself to do something you don’t want to do or don’t like to do to get exercise. Exercising shouldn’t be a chore. Find some form of activity you absolutely love to do. Whether it be yoga, cycling, kick boxing class, weight lifting, doing the elliptical, taking your dog out for a walk, or going for a bike ride with the kids.

You don’t have to be training for the next big race or pounding out the miles each week to benefit yourself. Even just 30 minutes a day 3-5 times a week will do your body benefit.

Sure, we have some days where we dread exercise or going to the gym, but exercise should overall be enjoyed and the feeling and adrenaline you have when you’re done exercising is worth the time to exercise. Never allow yourself to feel inadequate just because someone else is doing something different, can hold crow pose longer than you, can lift a heavier weight, or exercises more often than you. Everyone is different. Each person has different capabilities, interests, and strengths. After all, the main focus and reason for exercising is for YOU. It’s taking time to do something for yourself.

My goal in sharing my passion for running with the world is to encourage others to get out there and be active with something they love. I fully encourage you all to take some time for yourself and find something that you’re passionate and you love to do!

brittsig

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2011 9:55 AM

    I COMPLETELY agree with this post, Britt. With how trendy running has become over the years, it’s important to keep perspective and understand that you can do several things to keep healthy in a way that makes YOU happy. When yoga exploded in popularity, I tried to hard to love it, but I just didn’t. I understand how good for you yoga can be, so I try to stop by a class every month or so. But I know that I simply don’t enjoy it as much as others do, so why should I become a daily yogi? I’ll do something else! 😉

  2. September 14, 2011 10:18 AM

    What a great post Britt! There are so many ways to be healthy and to live a healthy lifestyle. I think running is just one of the easiest ways because it requires so little equipment…but there really are so many things we can do and ways to ENJOY being fit and healthy.

    Thanks for this today! (and i love any post with a Simpsons reference)

  3. September 14, 2011 10:37 AM

    Completely agree <33

  4. Brittani permalink
    September 14, 2011 12:29 PM

    So, I have to say you inspired me to start atleast walking everyday with one rest day of coarse. I thought maybe I could run but the altitude is causing some serious stress on my lungs. 🙂 So I accepted that I needed to lead into running. I started just walking about 1.6 miles around my neighborhood and VIOLA! I am losing pounds already. My mood has improved and I even found that if I am having a crappy day, my walking makes it all better. You are right, running is not always right for everyone. Walking is doing the trick for me 🙂 I do hope to be atleast jogging within the next 6 months. Thanks for the inspiration and help that you provided! 🙂

  5. September 14, 2011 9:59 PM

    Great post, and so very true. Although I LOOVEE running..there are days where running is not my go to workout. I love me some yoga and simple walks too!

  6. September 15, 2011 5:15 PM

    I totally agree! I love running, but it’s not the only way to stay healthy. The weird thing about it is that it totally warps my perspective of exercise sometimes- when you’re training for a marathon, anything less than a 2 hour run doesn’t seem enough, which is NOT true!

  7. September 16, 2011 8:47 AM

    I should email a link to this post to some of my friends. For some reason the moment I bring up my training they defensively shout I HATE RUNNING.. when I wasn’t suggesting they even run in the first place. People are funny about it.
    Great post !

  8. September 16, 2011 2:35 PM

    I totally agree– I know that being healthy isn’t just about being a great runner/marathoner… it’s about the WHOLE– eating, activity, mental sanity, etc..

    It’s hard to have such a good perspective when you’re just trying to fit everything in and your lie is so busy, but when you step back a bit, will it really matter that you skipped today’s workout in the long run? As long as you’re motivated to stay healthy overall, then you shouldn’t really sweat the small stuff anymore.

  9. September 16, 2011 6:48 PM

    I love this post!

    Running is actually what started me on the journey to health, but its not required.

  10. September 17, 2011 8:25 PM

    Thanks for this- I needed it this week!

Leave a Reply

