Skip to content

Recovery Week

September 18, 2011

I’ve been racking up the mileage over the last few weeks in preparation for my upcoming Olympic Triathlon next weekend. Eeek- I can’t believe it’s only a week away!

week1

week2

week3

week4

Although this weeks mileage doesn’t compare as much to the week before, I’m feeling it the most after this weekend. I usually take Friday’s as a rest day, but I had taken Thursday off due to working very late so Friday I went to the gym for a run. I ended up running 10 miles because I was having the run of my life and I just didn’t want to stop. Saturday morning I still got up to do my planned 17 miles, and it was rough. I think I experienced “the wall” for the first time. This morning I had made plans to do my a 25 mile ride with my dad so I got up early to do that. About 4 miles in I got a flat. On our way to walk to the gas station to fix it and fill it up with some air we realized the weather wasn’t looking so good anymore and we decided to call the ride off.

image

It was probably a blessing in disguise as my legs didn’t feel like pounding out a tough workout. We headed to the gym and I did a very easy few miles on the spin bike and some abs.

On top of swimming and biking I’ve been trying to keep my running mileage up for the week with 4-5 runs and long runs on the weekend so I can get in marathon shape. It’s been pretty manageable so far, but this last week I’ve started experiencing some burn out.  Just in time for a recovery week. I’ve been anticipating this week being a recovery week and really looking forward to it.

I plan to work on my swimming some this week. I haven’t spent as much time in the pool as I would have liked (about once a week for the last 6 weeks) and it will be a great way to workout for a recovery week. I also foresee yoga, a day of very light running/biking, foam rolling, and a ton of extra sleep in my weeks future.

The week before a race I make an effort to eat as healthy and clean as possible so I feel my absolute best on race day. The refrigerator is stocked with so many delicious fruits and vegetables I can’t wait to eat. Especially tons of greens.

image

It’s such a treat to myself to take extra care of my body and focus on rest and recovery for a week.

How do you take care of yourself after a tough workout week and/or the week before a race?

brittsig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 10:02 PM

    You look so cute with all your pink gear haha! You have had some seriously intense weeks lately girl! Maybe an ice bath would help with your muscles and like you said a good foam roller session or some yoga :)? Something relaxing since you’ve been just going, going, GONE lately haha ;D

  2. September 19, 2011 6:29 AM

    I am thinking that a yoga class is in order for me this week. I did the Tour de pink yesterday and I am feeling it this morning. You and your bike would have fit right in with all the pink!

  3. September 19, 2011 6:59 AM

    You defiantly need a recovery week, that’s alot of tough miles that you have behind you. Yoga is the best on recovery weeks, it always feels amazing!
    I’m always really careful what I eat a week before the race as well. I don’t want to show up feeling bloated or anything…yuck! Good luck in your upcoming race, you’ll rock it!

  4. September 19, 2011 8:35 AM

    You are a rockstar!!! I love all your pink gear… so cute. Can you change your smoothie to pink too? The green kinda creeps me out 🙂 Can’t wait to hear about the race next weekend!!

  5. September 19, 2011 4:27 PM

    I eat every carb under the sun in the week leading up to a race! And I’ll be the fourth person to echo that I LOVE all of the pink!

    Nice job with all of the mileage — so impressive! 🙂

  6. September 19, 2011 6:20 PM

    I just love all your pink! You’re going to do GREAT this weekend!

  7. September 20, 2011 10:22 PM

    Great workouts! What IS that green smoothie and how do you make it/is it yummy? There’s a bike shop nearby my place that has all sorts of pink gear. Their most recent t-shirts say Bike for Boobies… I’m guessing its breast cancer but it’s all pink and so fun!

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga for Recovery « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

