Skip to content

30-Minute Meal Monday: Maple Glazed Mahi Mahi

September 19, 2011

I started my week off right this morning.

003

Kombucha- you  make the world a better place. For those of you that don’t know, Kombucha is a fermented tea that is said to have many health benefits aiding with digestion, has anti-viral and antibiotic properties, and is used to detoxify. It has a very vinegar-like taste,  but I find it refreshing and crisp. I enjoyed a Kombucha in lieu of coffee this morning.

Another great way to start the day is a healthy breakfast. One egg + egg whites, spinach, and onions. YUM!

005

For lunch I had a huge salad full of spring mix, cucumbers, snap peas, sprouts, and ginger dressing.

006

I enjoyed all my eats today, but dinner was the cake topper. Who knew such a simple and nutritious meal could be so delicious.

013

What I love about this meal:

  • It’s packed with protein
  • It’s easy to make
  • It’s high in vitamin c
  • It’s high in iron
  • It tasted wonderful
  • It has healthy fats
  • It’s high in b vitamins

Maple Glazed Mahi Mahi

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 2 tablespoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 finely chopped shallot
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons rosemary
  • 2 5-ounce fresh or frozen skinless mahi mahi fillets, about 1 inch thick
  • 1 6-ounce package fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 cup cooked shelled edamame
  • 1 large red bell pepper cut into strips
  • 1 oz. chopped almond

Directions
In a small saucepan  make the maple syrup mixture- combine maple syrup, vinegar, lemon juice, mustard, shallot, salt, and pepper. For dressing, in a small bowl, stir together 2 tablespoons of the maple syrup mixture and the olive oil; set aside.

008

For glaze, heat the remaining maple syrup mixture to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer about 5 minutes.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place fish on greased pan and brush with half the glaze. Cook for 5 minutes. Turn fish over; brush with remaining glaze. Cook for 5-7 minutes more. Sprinkle with rosemary when fish is complete.

009

In a large bowl, combine spinach, edamame, pepper strips, and almonds. Drizzle spinach mixture with dressing; toss to coat.

Serve mahi mahi on top of salad and Enjoy!

011

Now THAT’s starting off the week right!

What did you have to eat today? Have you ever had mahi mahi? This way my first time to try it and I was impressed.

brittsig

12 Comments leave one →
  1. shiningfromwithin permalink
    September 19, 2011 8:36 PM

    Mmmmm….bet this would work with tofu or tempeh, too. I love kombucha<3

  2. Kalli and Bill permalink
    September 19, 2011 9:17 PM

    That is starting the week off right! I love kombucha too! So refreshing 🙂 what kind of running issues are you having?

  3. September 19, 2011 9:18 PM

    Loveee kombuchaaaaaa! Your eggs look great! I have never had mahi-mahi (I’m a vegetarian) but it looks delicious the way you made it, and the sauce sounds even betttter! YUM!

  4. September 20, 2011 12:40 AM

    Your meals were so green and lovely and light today! I’m a little jeal, not so much color happened on my plates today. Will fix that tomorrow 🙂

    I love love love Kombucha– like a party in your mouth: fizzy, sweet, sour, tangy… gingerade is one of my fave flavors.

  5. September 20, 2011 4:10 AM

    That looks really good.
    I wish we had our own kitchen right now so I could do my own cooking without feeling so cramped.

  6. September 20, 2011 2:48 PM

    That dinner looks so healthy and delicious.

    I’m not much of a seafood fan, but mahi mahi is my favorite.

  7. September 20, 2011 10:24 PM

    I love kombucha! The gingerade is my favorite flavor too 🙂

    Your mahi recipe looks delicious!

  8. September 20, 2011 11:20 PM

    Dinner looks so yummy! I order mahi mahi out at restaurants a lot but have never attempted to make it. i love almonds and maple syrup so I will have to give this a whirl.

  9. September 21, 2011 7:00 AM

    This reminds me of the movie Smiley Faces when the girl goes “I’d like a Mahi Mahi, but only one because I’m not that hungry” LOL!!

  10. September 21, 2011 2:44 PM

    mmm, super tasty!! so excited to find your blog – i’m also a houston healthy/food blogger!! hope you’re having a great week 🙂

  11. September 21, 2011 4:09 PM

    I LOVE mahi mahi! This looks amazing, Britt. Definitely something I have to try this week. Maybe for my next “Kitchen Tuesdays” post! Thanks for sharing, as always.

  12. September 22, 2011 12:43 PM

    I love mahi-mahi! It is one of my favorite fish to eat. Try rubbing olive oil on it then lightly coating it with parmesean bread crumbs or a light dusting of instant potatos and bake. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

