Skip to content

Yoga for Recovery

September 22, 2011

Recovery week is going really well so far. I too Monday off completely which I haven’t done in quite sometime. I usually find myself taking active rest days and end up walking, doing yoga, or easy abs on “rest” days.

Tuesday I decided to to take time to use a session of yoga I had purchased a while back. A few months ago a yoga studio right near my work had a great groupon-like deal for warm/hot yoga classes. When I bought them I had gone to one  warm vinyasa yoga class and then I got a new job that was completely on the opposite side of town nearly an hour away from the studio.

I decided to make the trek to the studio as I figured hot yoga would be a great compliment to a recovery week. It was a very enjoyable class. I intensely appreciate yoga, but often in yoga class I find trouble being completely immersed in the moment and leaving all my stress and to-do list outside of practice. I tried to focus on my breath only and concentrate on my ujjayi breathing when my mind would begin to wander for the moment.

All in all it was a remarkable class. It wasn’t as hot as I would have imagined, but I worked up quite a sweat when we worked our shoulders with planks, side planks, and Chaturangas.

I also realized in class that I’d done it once again; I’ve been so focused on training for the triathlon I’ve been a cardio queen and I have completely abandoned strength training. I was struggling with some of the power poses so I intend to get back into some strength after this weekend.

In class we practice two poses I had never done before.:

Eagle Pose:

Star Pose:

Yeah… my star pose looked just like that… Winking smile

We also did many hip opening and stretching poses. I carry so much tension in my hips from running and it was like the instructor knew what my body was needing. My favorite hip opening pose is pigeon pose.

What’s your favorite yoga pose?

brittsig

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2011 7:44 AM

    So glad you liked it! I have really missed it the last few weeks as I have been traveling and running super long distances. Which class did you go to? I see Sharmon in the mornings & just adore her. I really enjoy pigeon too- both leaning back and laying flat down, opens up both hips.

  2. September 22, 2011 8:32 AM

    i ❤ eagle pose, it's one of my favorites (and pigeon!)

  3. September 22, 2011 12:52 PM

    I love pigeon pose… such a good stretch.

    And one of you ladies send me a message and tell me where this place is… I’m obviously missing something!!

  4. September 22, 2011 1:17 PM

    I love yoga, but I’ve never been to hot yoga. I’m going to have to give it a try. I love pigeon pose, it’s the best stretch of all time.

  5. shiningfromwithin permalink
    September 22, 2011 1:19 PM

    i am dying to go to a hot yoga class.
    star pose would kick my azzz!!!

  6. September 22, 2011 3:01 PM

    Love yoga for running recovery — I only wish I had more time / $$ for it! The Lululemon store by me does free “roga” (a group run followed by 45 minutes of yoga aimed at running muscles) every other week, and I go whenever I can. (They also have a free class on Sunday mornings, but I’m too lazy to get up early on a Sunday. :P)

  7. September 22, 2011 11:10 PM

    I really only do yoga when I visit my mom. There is this one pose… I think its called happy baby where your legs and arm are in the air and you are on your back. But my mom calls it dead bug. The name just makes me smile.

  8. September 23, 2011 5:23 AM

    I love that one too! I’ve heard it called happy baby and dead bug before.

  9. September 23, 2011 8:56 AM

    I love pigeon for my hips! Such a good stretch! I’m not sure what it’s really called but wind relieving, is great too! Lie on your back, tuck your knees to your chest, wrap both arms around your knees and compress and you exhale. It’s even better when the instructor offers additional pressure on your shins!

  10. September 25, 2011 10:04 AM

    I had a brief stint with bikram yoga a few months ago. Man did that feel great on my body! Eagle pose was tough for sure! There’s one called Dandayamana – JanuShirasana or “standing head to knee” pose. That’s an awesome one.

  11. September 25, 2011 2:39 PM

    I bought a yoga deal from Groupon a few months ago and totally forgot about it until now! I’m really bad about getting to yoga when I’m training, so I’m excited to take advantage of it soon.

  12. September 25, 2011 5:27 PM

    I have no patience for yoga, but that star pose does look fun to try!

Leave a Reply

