Skip to content

Weekend Love and October Goals

October 3, 2011

The beautiful weather made for an amazing weekend. Not a cloud in the sky.

image

I had date night and breakfast with hubby.

005

Enjoyed froyo with friends.

froyo collage

Ran two extremely giddy runs due to the 60-degree weather.

image

and went golfing with hubby.

cimageclearly the face of a pro

It was so nice to be able to be outdoors and enjoy ourselves without sweating up a storm. I didn’t want the weekend to end. I hope this weather is here to stay until spring.

Switching gears, I wanna talk about setting goals. I find it so important that we set and strive for goals on a regular basis. I’m an extremely analytical person by nature and always looking for ways I can do better and achieve my best self. If it wasn’t for goals I would have never graduated college, ran a marathon, gotten my personal training license, or started cooking more. Goals (big and small) are an important part of my life. Here are goals I’d like to achieve in October:

Run the 10 for TX and have fun. This race is on Saturday. I’m a little worried about it. I LOVED this race last year. Somehow out of nowhere I finished it at an 8:17 pace. I’m not really sure I can do that right now. I really don’t want to be disappointed if I can’t. Stupid right? Yeah, I think so too. My goal is just to go out there have fun, see what I can do, and be proud of myself no matter what the outcome or the race results are. Afterall, if I’m not there to enjoy myself, why am I there?

Cook 2 new recipes per week. I just got the most exciting kitchen toy ever.  Meet Peggy Sue (yes, I like to name my appliances).

002

Chew less gum. I’m a gum-a-holic. No seriously. I am a chain chewer. I go through like 3 packs a weeks. Polar ice is my fav.

Keep up with marathon training– specifically one long run and one speed run per week.I tend to forget the speed runs.

Do 2 cross-training videos per week. I feel my healthiest when I’m not only running, but cross training too. I’ve missed doing strength and videos and looking forward to adding them back into my cardio-heavy routine. I miss you Jillian.

Blog More– I love sharing my life from training, recipes, and randomness with you guys and I don’t like it when  I don’t make the time to do it.

 

Do you like to set goals? What kind of goals do you have for October?

brittsig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 10:44 PM

    Peggy Sue is simply gorgeous!
    And Imlove it that we consider it a “cool front” and “fall is finally here” and yet you, like me, were in shorts and ta ms all weekend! I’m just so thakful it isn’t 100+ anymore!

  2. October 3, 2011 10:52 PM

    I’m so glad you finally got a mixer. I know you wanted it. I use mine all the time! Probably more than any other kitchen appliance.

  3. October 3, 2011 11:03 PM

    Great goals! I agree that this weather has been phenomenal as of late. Nice to know Texas can cool its buns a bit! I considered running the 10 for TX but I really don’t think I’d do as well as I’d want to. Maybe I’ll sign up last minute though… maybe only if there’s froyo nearby post race…

    • October 4, 2011 5:37 AM

      There’s one like right where the post race party is. They have one of the best posy race parties and the race is a good price.

  4. October 3, 2011 11:25 PM

    Those are great goals. I really need to try and get more cross-training in my life. Since we are 20min from the gym, I think I am going to pick up some workout DVD’s and do those a few times a week.

  5. October 3, 2011 11:26 PM

    These are all such great goals! I feel like I need to revamp mine and make them more interesting after seeing yours ha.

  6. October 4, 2011 10:28 AM

    I’m doing 10 for Texas too! I’m excited because it’s first race I’ve done since April! The little guy is doing the fun run. I’m not sure who’s more excited, me or him!

  7. October 4, 2011 1:04 PM

    This was an inspiring post! I was just thinking how I haven’t been that focused lately. I am debating training for a half marathon. Its something I have never done but I think it would be so rewarding. I also need to plan out my workouts better so I don’t end up doing the same things week after week. I am in love with your kitcehn aid mixer!! Is that a new color? I have only seen the light pink one.

Leave a Reply

