Skip to content

Weekend Long Run Prep

October 16, 2011

It’s another lovely weekend over at the FitChick household this weekend. I love weekends because I get to spend extra time with my hubby. He just recently got a new job where he actually has the weekends off (he used to work weekends) and the change has been so nice getting to spend the days together.

Saturday morning I did some much needed hot yoga. I have no idea what I’m going to do when the classes I purchased are all gone. I am loving yoga so much and it’s become a necessity.

Yesterday I finally broke down and bought some compression sleeves for my calves. I’ve had some very odd calf pain for the last few weeks and they seem to never recover/have only gotten worse. I’ve heard great things about how they can help you recover more quickly. I wore them around the house while we made dinner last night and I actually have them on right now. They’re pink of course! Smile

010

Hubby and I love to make pizza for dinner because we can each make our own personalized pizzas. We split the dough and I usually give him about 2/3’s of the dough and we each put on our own toppings. He likes lots of sauce, extra cheese, and extra pepperoni. I prefer a little sauce, a little cheese, and extra veggies. And apparently hubby is a pro pizza-tosser because his pizza always ends up so much bigger and spread out than mine! Not fair!

009

They both turned out excellent!!

014

Pizza is surprisingly one of those things I find works really well for me for a meal the night before a long run and Saturdays are the perfect evening for pizza. win win for me.

Today’s long run went exceptionally well. My goal was 13.1 in 2 hours and I was feeling really great that I picked up the pace at the end. I’m also feeling really well after todays long run. I’m not as whiped out as I normally feel- a very good thing! I think the compression sleeves helped a lot, along with making sure to hydrate very well before during and after my run.

020

How is your weekend going? How do you prep for a long run?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 16, 2011 4:15 PM

    Great job again! I have some compression socks, but haven’t actually used them yet. You think with all these marathons, I’d just stick them on.

  2. October 16, 2011 11:49 PM

    I have never used compression socks before. I just don’t like how they look (ridiculous!) But maybe I should get over that and give them a try.

    Homemade pizzas… mmmmm!

    Awesome half marathon time.

  3. October 17, 2011 6:38 AM

    wow you are FAST!! 13 under 2 is impressive!
    I’m jealous of your pink socks! I got ugly black ones!

  4. October 17, 2011 9:15 AM

    Damn girl you are fast!! It’s a dream to do a half under 2 hours… but my more attainable goal right now its under 2:15.

    I have the same color compression socks and I LOVE them. I wore them all day Saturday!! I think they help!

Leave a Reply

