Skip to content

Workout Wednesday: Jillian is Back

October 26, 2011

Around 2:00 this afternoon I was bursting with energy to get home and do a strength workout. Rachael and I made a decision and a pact that we were going to start committing to at least 2 weekly strength workouts because of this:

out of shape

out of shape 2

It’s true… I have sorta fallen out of strength training shape because, well, I’ve abandoned it for run and tri training. I know in my head this is a bad decision, but when I have specific goal in mind to run a marathon I tend to focus on just running. Even though I know strength training is so importing in staying a healthy and injury-free runner.

By the time 6:00 rolled around this about sums up how I was feeling about making the hour trek home and then spending another hour working out:

ugh

Honestly, plopping down on the couch wine in hand sounded more appealing than anything, but I did what I had to do. As soon as I walked in the door I put my workout clothes on.

 

pink_cartoon_bird_or_chick_0515-1003-1906-0318_SMUFit Chick Britt Fitness Tip: When getting home for the day head straight to changing into your workout gear. If you sit down on the catch or procrastinate your workout you are more likely to cancel it all together or lack motivation once you finally get going.

Tonight I had a killer workout further proving the theory that I’ve never regretted a workout. Here what went down:

  • 20 minute treadmill speed intervals
  • 15 minute Jackie Warner Abs circuit
  • Jillian Michaels 30 day shred Level 1

This video is my all time favorite workout video and I’ve been bummed because I misplaced it a long time ago. After some begging asking around twitter I found a friend (Thank you Tiffy!) who offered to lend me a copy. Needless to say I was stoked when a package containing this arrived on my doorstep yesterday.

As soon as I turned the video on today I was pumped. There’s something in the music and the motivation Jillian gives that I just love about this video. I started doing this video when I very first fell in love with exercise and taking care of my body: I think it remind me of that time and makes me feel extra motivated and enthusiastic.

I ended my “workout Wednesday” thankful to once again be doing strength training and wondering why I ever abandoned it in the first place. I’m sorry strength training I will try not to forget about you again.

How do you fit in strength training?

Do you have a favorite workout video?

brittsig

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2011 11:34 PM

    I have totally slacked on strength training the last few months because of our big move. I just ordered a few DVD’s and they came 2 days ago. I ordered 2 Jillian Michaels DVD’s and am going to try one today for the first time.

  2. October 27, 2011 6:36 AM

    Love strength training! I feel so much stronger now and toned and I’ve only been strength training for a little over a month now and see changes… If I’m short on time, ill shorten my cardio and get in a full body cardio sesh or whatever muslce group I have planned for that day. I agree, when I was running I did ZIPPO strength..its hard to balance it w running…the running sucks the energy out of you (for me at least lol)

  3. October 27, 2011 9:19 PM

    Lately I’ve only been teaching BodyPump for strength training, but finally I got my own workout in! I like the combo of lifting on my own once or twice per week and teaching pump once.

  4. October 28, 2011 7:09 AM

    Strength training is hugely important! To me it helps prevent injuries, get back on the strength training! Don’t let it slip! Welcome back Jillian!

  5. November 1, 2011 2:46 PM

    I’m only just now starting to strength train again. I’ve been doing it on and off for a while but when I train for a long distance race I NEVER do it. I’m actually starting to enjoy it!

  6. November 1, 2011 6:30 PM

    I rented that video from the library once and it definitely kicked my butt!

Trackbacks

  1. 3 Things Thursday | Happy Healthy Runner
  2. October Goals Recap « Fit Chick Britt

Leave a Reply

