Skip to content

Monster Mash 15K Recap

November 6, 2011

I’ve been waiting a whole week for photos to post an epic race recap, but it looks like those photos are never going to get posted. #wherearethey?!

I figured I better share some type of recap before I forget all the details.

The day  before the race was a gorgeous day and typical Saturday. I went for a short run, went to yoga, and was played golf with Hubby…. errr played caddy.

618

Kombucha tastes even better from the green.

614

While we were golfing I got an email about a local Halloween themed race “The Monster Mash” that desperately needed volunteers the next day. I had actually been eyeing this race; I liked that they had a 5k, 10k, and 15k, but I made a promise to myself that I wouldn’t sign up for anymore races between t he 10 for TX and my November half marathon.

I half-jokingly replied back to the email asking if we could volunteer for a free spot in the race and to my surprise I got a “Yes” response. After much debating, I showed up at 11 am to help volunteer and to run the 15k at 3:45.

Volunteering was fun. I spent most of the morning hanging Halloween decorations and the rest of the afternoon pointing participants in the direction of packet pickup and showing them how to use their D-tags.

As for the race part, I’ve decided I don’t like writing race recaps. It’s boring to me to run through mile by mile and try to recap the race that way and after re writing my recap 90 times here’s the basic run down:

619

I wasn’t sure what my race strategy was. I was kind of tired from running around all day already and I’d hardly eaten, and I just wasn’t in the mood to “race”.

I texted Rachael and told her I was gonna just take an easy pace for the race and she said “NO. and that’d I’d be really disappointed if I didn’t actually race. She basically told me I train really hard and I deserved a good race.”

When the gun went off I still wasn’t convinced I wanted to “race” and I spent the first half mile trying to at least weave past the walkers and the people dressed in costume. Why do I always get stuck in the back?!

I quickly realized I did feel like running fast and somewhere in the first mile I took off.

My garmin is broken so I had no idea how fast or slow I was running throughout the whole race.

I finally came up to the first loop (it was 3 loops of 5k) and I saw the clock said 25 minutes. I thought, “Dang, if I can keep this up I can run a 1:15 15k” and I knew that was an 8:00 pace.

I started thinking about this post and how I admitted I’d been having a bad race season and I’d been having trouble finishing a race strong and giving into the mental games.

I kept my pace going and I passed the 2nd loop at the 10k mark at 48 minutes. “Who am I?!” I thought. That was 3 minutes faster than my current 10k PR!

At this point I was super pumped and I just went for it. My legs were flying. I was tired and I could have easily slowed the pace but my mind was so in this race that I just kept running- and fast!

I came up to the end of the last loop, I dug deep and sprinted to the finish line. I’m pretty sure I had the  biggest smile on my face when I saw he clock read 1:13. 1:13 something?!? That’s a sub 8:00 minute pace for 9.3 miles. I have never ever ran that far that fast. EVER.

Official time was 1:13:32. Pace: 7:47/mile

665

I took 2nd place overall female in the 15k and I left feeling like I’d raced the best race I’d ever run.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2011 11:35 PM

    Wow amazing job! You deserve a great race according to that last post haha 🙂 I hope I do as well at my 10k coming up soon! I’m jealous I didn’t do that race now…I want a medal haha!

  2. November 7, 2011 12:13 AM

    Awesome! Sometimes I think Garmins hamper more than they help. I’ve read so many race reports where people were really down in the outs because their garmin was broke, just to find out in the end that they had made a personal best. I think its because you’re running for the sheer joy of it, not because you’re trying to reach certain numbers. I think sometimes garmins might play a part in holding you back.

    Also, that medal and award is pretty frickin’ sweet.

  3. November 7, 2011 12:15 AM

    Holy speedy girl! What’s your secret? 🙂

  4. Ligia Bermudez permalink
    November 7, 2011 12:42 AM

    Great job friend!

  5. November 7, 2011 2:09 AM

    nice job! I love kombucha!

  6. November 7, 2011 10:00 AM

    You are so amazing! All your hard work, dedication, and perseverance pays off even if you don’t see it at first! What a great story of triumph! Congratulations on such a great race!!! =)

  7. November 7, 2011 10:11 AM

    Great run 🙂 I love helping at races almost as much as running in them.

  8. Britt @ runwithbritt permalink
    November 7, 2011 10:21 AM

    Congratulations! You dominated that race! I’m so happy you got in a good race before your November marathon. I bet you can’t wait to rock all of those miles! You go girl! 🙂

  9. November 7, 2011 10:47 AM

    I am jealous!! What the heck did you have for breakfast on that morning lol?? On a serious note Britt, you are so capable of doing something like this so I was not at all surprised!! I am glad you had a great race!! Keep it up girl!! YOU ROCK!!

  10. November 7, 2011 7:40 PM

    that’s amazing! congrats! if you can find the guava goddess flavor by synergy, buy it. it is SO yummy.

  11. November 7, 2011 9:46 PM

    Dang girl, way to GO! Congratulations on running a GREAT race and placing 2nd overall! Love the medal too, too cute! Glad you had a good time and that volunteering worked out so well for you!

  12. November 8, 2011 12:48 PM

    Great job! That’s a smokin’ time 🙂 Love the medal & congrats on the finish!

  13. November 12, 2011 9:07 PM

    For not feeling like it, WOW, congratulations!

Leave a Reply

