Skip to content

Banana Orange Bread

November 7, 2011

Happy Monday my friends. I know those two words don’t really go together, but we are focusing on the positive this month.

3 good things this week has to offer:

1. Monday is already over

2. It’s a short week (I’ve got Friday off- woohoo!)

3. I’m running the San Antonio half marathon at the end of the week

Here’s a great quote I heard at yoga yesterday to start your week off with:

I hope you had a nice weekend. I had a great 16 mile long run with Rachael. It’s so nice to have someone to do a long run with; the time just flies by and before you know it the long run is over. Hopefully we can do one of those brutal 20 mile runs together Smile.

On Saturday I was in the mood to bake and considering we were pretty low on groceries it took some thought. I had some left over orange juice from my homemade sports drink and some pretty sad looking black bananas.

621

pink_cartoon_bird_or_chick_0515-1003-1906-0318_SMUFit Chick Britt Eat Well Tip: Near-black bananas are one of the best baking mediums. Ripe bananas become sweeter over time and can be used as a sweetener in recipes. I even find I can reduce the amount of sugar in a recipe when I’m using ripe bananas.

625

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 3 very ripe mashed bananas
  • 3/4 cup orange juice
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • orange zest from 1/2 orange

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together all ingredients starting with the wet. Top mixture with orange zest. Bake in greased loaf pan (mine is 8 1/2 in. x 4 in. X 2 in.) for 50 minutes. Enjoy!

As an afterthought, I thought the glaze from this bread would make a perfect topping for the banana orange bread.

Yesterday I got my haircut and so I don’t get reprimanded here is a picture of the new do.

I went from this…

image

to this…

653

 

I love it! Not a huge change, but I needed some shape and color. It had been over a year since I last colored my hair. I had myself convinced I was going to grow my natural color out, but I couldn’t stand it anymore. I mean who wants “dirty dishwater blonde” hair?

I actually haaaate getting my hair done because it takes too long. I was there for 5 hours! I’m never putting off doing my hair that long again.

Hope you’re having a wonderful Monday.

Anyone else running any races this weekend?

brittsig

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2011 10:28 PM

    So excited you posted this! I was thinking today that I was hoping you would bc I have some almost black nanners! Love the hair, the shape is great!

  2. November 8, 2011 12:04 AM

    I was hoping you were going to post that recipe! mmmmm….sounds yummy! So hard for me to keep black bananas in the house, but I will have to give it a try! =)

    Love your hair! I also hate going to the hair salon (and nail salon, too). 5 hours – yikes! Looks great, though!

    Best wishes for a kick ass race this weekend!

  3. November 8, 2011 12:21 AM

    Your hair looks so nice! I haven’t had my hair cut since August… 2010. Haha, my split ends are horrendous!

  4. November 8, 2011 7:45 AM

    4 things:

    1. We most definitely can do a 20 miler together, I will need it.
    2. Good job learning from my mistake and posting a picture ahead of time 🙂
    3. Your hair looks AWESOME
    4. Dang… now I don’t remember the 4th. But I’m sure it had something to do with the half this weekend. I’m looking forward to it. 😉

  5. November 8, 2011 12:40 PM

    Love the hair- it looks great! I saw your name on the yoga list for Sunday & smiled 🙂

  6. fairyhealthylife permalink
    November 8, 2011 5:21 PM

    Good luck on your race this weekend! I’m sure you’ll have a blast.

    Your face looks brighter with the hair color. I like it.

  7. November 14, 2011 7:53 PM

    I really like your haircut! I have long, boring hair and am in need of a change!

Leave a Reply

