Skip to content

RNR San Antonio 1/2 Marathon Recap

November 16, 2011

What do you want first? The good? or the bad? Let’s start with the bad so we can end on a positive note.

The Bad

  • The trek to San Antonio started with sitting in an hour of traffic before we even made it out of Houston. Fun.
  • I’d been stalking the weather all week and I was not happy about it. 100% humidity and70-degrees at the start of the race with the temperatures rising in the 80’s. It was as  bad as I pictured it being. Maybe worse. Have I told y’all how much I HATE running the humidity? I’d pick the dreadmill over humidity no contest.
  • 003
  • Hills- oh the hills. Houston is FLAT. San Antonio- not so much. I have done zero hill training and I was expecting this “flat and fast” course the race site had bragged about. There were steady climbs throughout and a killer overpass at mile 13. That was just mean.
  • I hated every single step of this race except for the one to get back in the car to go home. I went into the race with a less than thrilled attitude. The corrals were crowded and people were very pushy. I felt the way the start and finish were set up was sort of chaotic and kind of not worth all the hassle of “just running the half.”
  • 004
  • The course was kind of boring. We went through a bunch of neighborhoods and downtown buildings and in and around some overpasses. However, apparently, according to the race video I was sent, we ran past the Alamo. How did I miss that?

 

The Good

  • I carb loaded the night before with Rachael and our Hubby’s. We went to a place that Hubby had seen on man vs. food that had crazy-huge 42’ pizzas. We all split a 20” and couldn’t finish it.

  • Despite the fact that my mind wasn’t in the right place I was actually able to convince myself to push it. It is strange how I view a half marathon as more of a “go all out” race and feel like I can try to push my pace pretty hard. Thanks to marathon training 13 miles doesn’t seem all that far anymore Smile 
  • I originally signed up to run the full marathon but a month or two ago I decided I would just run the half because I didn’t want to run two marathons that close together and I want to do really well at Houston. I spent the entire race congratulating myself for making the best decision by not running the full marathon in those weather conditions. (Sorry Tara)
  • The crowd support was great. The people of San Antonio really came out to support the runners. The funniest spectator sign of the day I saw said, “Try not to suck.”

  • The finish line was very organized. Plenty of volunteers, getting in an out of the food lines was quick and easy, and we were given glorious cold towels.
  • I left the race with a shiny new PR by 5-minutes. PR’s are always good Smile I beat my primary goal of finishing in under 1:50. My official time was 1:49:32.

image

brittsig

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    November 17, 2011 2:51 AM

    Wow Britt I’m sorry the hills and the humidity! I guess you forgot that’s by the hill country! I love it there! Sounds like you did great though! That pizza was huge and looked so good!!!!
    Least you got away for the weekend. That’s always a plus! Seems I heard about about some good mexican food too! Chalk it the hills up to a new experience! What would you do if you were doing the Pikes Peak climb. Not humid though! Sounds like a great weekend to me! 🙂 Love you, Mom

  2. November 17, 2011 6:38 AM

    Get it girl! You are awesome! Sorry it wasn’t your favorite but you did great! The Houston marathon better watch out!

  3. November 17, 2011 6:45 AM

    The humidity would have killed me.
    Congrats on such a great time. Sub 1:50 is one of my “I wish” goals

  4. November 17, 2011 8:10 AM

    Congrats on the PR! I agree, the heat and humidity was killer. I did the full and felt like a french fry around the 16 mile mark. I can’t imagine those poor people who were out there 6+ hours. Ick! I agree about the start corrals. They were way to close to the bathrooms. I felt like I had to push my way forward, but it’s okay. Overall I still had a great time.

  5. November 17, 2011 8:25 AM

    That pizza is HUGE! 🙂
    Awesome job!
    I hope I can go sub 1:50 one of these days!

  6. November 17, 2011 8:34 AM

    Congrats on the great time and a new PR. I totally agree with your assessment of the race- it sucked and was boring. The full was even worse….

  7. November 17, 2011 8:57 AM

    Great job Britt and congrats on the new PR! PR’s are always great and make you feel good 🙂 That is a seriously huge pizza! WOW! Never saw anything like that before.

  8. November 17, 2011 10:15 AM

    Well you sure do know how to go out there and ROCK the Rock ‘n’ Roll half, now don’t you?! EXTREMELY impressive race especially when taking into consideration the humidity and hills – that should make your PR even more glorious! Congratulations on such a great race!!! On a side note – that pizza is so ridiculously awesomely huge! So glad you got a picture of it – cRaZy! I just showed my brother-in-law and he said he must go there! haha!

  9. November 17, 2011 11:59 AM

    Oh no it looks like there is so much more bad than good 😦 BUT! A PR is always an amaaaazing feeling :)! Way to go strong.

  10. November 17, 2011 2:00 PM

    Yeah, not my best showing. I’m glad your race was better!

    One of my favorite signs out there was “Honey Badger don’t care”. Oh and another one just said “Fart”. Made me laugh… must be the living with young kids humor.

  11. November 17, 2011 8:03 PM

    Congrats! I have never done a long distance run and I have been debating signing up for one of the rock and roll races.

  12. November 20, 2011 8:31 PM

    That is a ginormous pizza! And way to bust out a serious PR in less than idea racing weather & conditions! Congrats girl!!!

  13. November 21, 2011 6:34 PM

    Congrats on the PR 🙂

  14. November 23, 2011 10:44 PM

    Congrats on your PR, Britt! 🙂

  15. December 7, 2011 2:23 PM

    glad to hear you say Houston is flat, cause i’ve got no hills for training! getting very excited for houston!!

  16. December 7, 2011 2:24 PM

    and congrats on the PR in the humidity!

Leave a Reply

