Skip to content

Healthy-ish Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

January 8, 2012

Hey Friends!! I hope you have been enjoying the last month and the holiday season that comes with it! I had a wonderful Christmas spending time with family and friends. Between hubby and I we have a lot of family. We made the rounds Christmas Eve and Christmas day and by the third Christmas meal I was ready to put my stretchy pants footie pajamas on.

409768_10150450836416939_701541938_8728444_591179099_n[1]

Yes…. I got fiesta ware AND footie pajamas for Christmas…. Smile

Another wonderful thing I enjoy about the holiday season is that several of my friends whom live out of state are in town. We did our annual Christmas cookie exchange party, painted cute Christmas pictures at Painting With a Twist, and had fun salsa dancing while ringing in the new year.

image

 

389422_715854669564_22303514_34985259_1582470290_n[1]

image

While I love the holidays, this weekend is one of my favorite weekends of the year. It’s the first weekend in a long time where there are no plans and no places to be. We get to relax and wind down and get everything back in order. Lord knows my house is screaming for some attention and I slept a near 10 hours last night! It was glorious.

I have a great recipe for you this morning! Healthy banana muffins that contain no oil and no  butter. And you know what that means?

There’s room for chocolate Smile

003

and of course black bananas are the best for healthy baking. My in-laws think I’m crazy for always wanting to take home their old bananas.

002

 

Here what you’ll need:

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 3/4 cup old fashioned oats
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda

 

pink_cartoon_bird_or_chick_0515-1003-1906-0318_SMUFitChickBritt Eat Well Tip: For an even healthier muffin simply omit the chocolate chips or substitute with orange zest or walnuts for extra flavor.

001

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease or line 12 muffin cups. In a medium bowl, mash bananas well. Combine eggs and bananas. In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, sugar and baking soda. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture. Fold in chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared muffin cups. Fill about 3/4’s of the muffin cup with mixture. Bake in oven for 11 to 13 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center of a muffin comes out clean.

012

Enjoy!

Hope you are having a relaxing weekend like me. Tell me one thing you did this holiday season!

brittsig

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 11:34 AM

    You must be reading my mind—I was just looking for a banana chocolate chip recipe the other day. I have to try this! Thanks! 🙂

  2. Lori permalink
    January 8, 2012 11:45 AM

    It’s about time! #slacking 🙂

  3. Mom permalink
    January 8, 2012 12:01 PM

    black bananas are the best for baking with! Glad you got your blog going again! Miss reading them!

  4. January 8, 2012 3:33 PM

    I have to admit that I’m totally jealous of your footie PJ’s; those might have to end up in my closet right next to my snuggie. 🙂

    One thing I did this holiday season was go on a cruise! It was so fantastic and I’m totally missing it right now as I start spring semester.

  5. January 9, 2012 2:33 AM

    Looks tasty — will have to try it sometime!

  6. January 11, 2012 10:49 PM

    Mmm, I love chocolate/banana combo, or chocolate anything combo. 🙂 Hope to meet you at the trials (blog meet up) Sat morning!!

Leave a Reply

